Jump to content

Malwarebytes

Cyber Defender Free 2.0?


13 replies to this topic

#1
guy3949

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Gender:Male
Is cyber Defender Free a rogue program? I got a email telling about this free program. In the email they say this program runs with small ads that are completely safe and don't get in the way.

#2
RubbeR DuckY

    Marcin

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,092 posts
  • Gender:Male
There are debates that it is rogue, however the person behind it is trying to prove that it is not. I wouldn't recommend it is the bottom line. Once the complete analysis is done, I will post it on the blog.
Marcin Kleczynski
Chief Executive Officer

Posted Image

Follow me on Twitter or check out my Blog!

#3
guy3949

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Gender:Male
I also forgot to say when i went to their website i saw they also offer a paid version without ads. I do not why they don't just make it free or paid?

#4
MysteryFCM

    Forum Deity

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,992 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tyneside, UK
Out of interest, was this a requested e-mail? (if not, can you forward a copy of it to me please? - with the headers, services @ it-mate.co.uk)
Steven Burn
Research Engineer

Posted Image

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

#5
PAN_IRISH

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

View Postguy3949, on Apr 16 2007, 08:02 PM, said:

Is cyber Defender Free a rogue program? I got a email telling about this free program. In the email they say this program runs with small ads that are completely safe and don't get in the way.

There are some issues about that program right now.

see the activity at castlecops dot com:

http://www.castlecops.com/postlite179535-.html

the discussion has been very LIVELY and sometimes HOSTILE.

of course;
you be the JUDGE of it, as usual.

#6
guy3949

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Gender:Male
I got the email from my brother. The info. was sent by a send to a friend service from this email address info@cyberdefender.com.

#7
JeanInMontana

    Delete this account!!

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,867 posts
  • Interests:would love to see some honesty around this site.
The program is adware, both versions pure and simple. There are also several other undesirable things it does to your system. All of which will be posted in approximately one hour in the thread posted by Pan_Irish and other sites as well. Maybe even here. ;)

#8
guy3949

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Gender:Male
Thank you everyone i will stay away from it.

#9
SwampDiner

    True Member

  • Experts
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 419 posts
  • Location:The Internets
@guy3949
If you still have the email, could you please post it to these forums?
Any evidence pointing in either direction will help guide this debate.

#10
guy3949

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Gender:Male
Here is the email.

Attached Files

  • Attached File  CDf2.png   76.92K   17 downloads


#11
SwampDiner

    True Member

  • Experts
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 419 posts
  • Location:The Internets

View Postguy3949, on Apr 18 2007, 03:59 PM, said:

Here is the email.
If I'm understanding everything correctly, the email was sent after somebody you knew used the "tell a friend" feature. I'm glad nobody has to think that this was spam. Thanks for posting the email.

#12
guy3949

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Gender:Male
The other thing in the email that made me not trust this program was that they say it works with your existing security software. I heard having more then one antivirus may conflict with each other.

#13
SwampDiner

    True Member

  • Experts
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 419 posts
  • Location:The Internets
It was either that or "May possibly work with some software, however, there are chances that'll it'll just suck and will start causing errors to your other programs." ;) People write what sounds good. Brute honesty is hard to come by these days.

#14
JeanInMontana

    Delete this account!!

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,867 posts
  • Interests:would love to see some honesty around this site.
Having more than one AV program active is bad. CyberDefender is not an AntiVirus program. I am in no way endorsing this program either. I do not recommend you use it ever.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Follow Us