Jump to content

Malwarebytes

Anvisoft Smart Defender


49 replies to this topic

#1
spectre

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
hi, im totally new to security software. I have a friend who told me they are using this application, anyone know anything about this it the website looks very new. I hear about all these rogues and im a bit leary. any information concernig this would be wonderful thank you.

#2
David H. Lipman

    Forum Deity

  • Experts
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,483 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Jersey Shore USA
  • Interests:Malware Research, dSLR Photography, Numismatics & Surf Fishing

Quote

Domain Name: ANVISOFT.COM
Registrar: GODADDY.COM, LLC
Whois Server: whois.godaddy.com
Referral URL: http://registrar.godaddy.com
Name Server: NS09.DOMAINCONTROL.COM
Name Server: NS10.DOMAINCONTROL.COM
Status: clientDeleteProhibited
Status: clientRenewProhibited
Status: clientTransferProhibited
Status: clientUpdateProhibited
Updated Date: 19-dec-2011
Creation Date: 21-nov-2011
Expiration Date: 21-nov-2016

Red Flags.

No name, no reputation, new site within the last few months and registered through GoDaddy. It could very well be legitimate but it could also leave much to be desired as there is no history with it.

Who is Anvei Technology Co. ?

Enough said.
David H. Lipman
DLipman@Verizon.Net

#3
BornSlippy

    Iconoclast

  • Malware Hunters
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,778 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London & Lincoln
The Good ;
Its legitimate,
Available to download from CNet
Reasonable Gui
Quick Scan
No False Positive detections

The Bad ;
No detection of my Malware Vault whatsoever (100 number, last 14 days)


Posted Image

#4
David H. Lipman

    Forum Deity

  • Experts
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,483 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Jersey Shore USA
  • Interests:Malware Research, dSLR Photography, Numismatics & Surf Fishing

View PostBornSlippy, on 18 January 2012 - 07:17 PM, said:

The Bad ;
No detection of my Malware Vault whatsoever (100 number, last 14 days)

Knowing your samples and the likelihood of your Zoo, that speaks loudly of the very poor quality of this product.
David H. Lipman
DLipman@Verizon.Net

#5
BornSlippy

    Iconoclast

  • Malware Hunters
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,778 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London & Lincoln
We all have to start somewhere, maybe this explains the results;
http://forums.anviso...ic-11-92-0.html
Posted Image

#6
GT500

    Mostly Cantankerous

  • Trusted Advisors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,016 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fortville, IN
Is this software 100% free? I don't see a way to purchase a 'pro' version, and I don't see any way that they are making money as they don't seem to have anything for sale (at least not from their product pages).

Quote

For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, and against the worldly governors, the princes of the darkness of this world...

#7
Zoefirst

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

View PostGT500, on 18 January 2012 - 08:09 PM, said:

Is this software 100% free? I don't see a way to purchase a 'pro' version, and I don't see any way that they are making money as they don't seem to have anything for sale (at least not from their product pages).
Seems it is free.

#8
GT500

    Mostly Cantankerous

  • Trusted Advisors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,016 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fortville, IN

Zoefirst said:

Seems it is free.

Yes, it does. No buttons or links in the software to purchase anything. I wonder if they are a division of another company, or if they managed to get the money to pay their employees some other way.

Quote

For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, and against the worldly governors, the princes of the darkness of this world...

#9
David H. Lipman

    Forum Deity

  • Experts
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,483 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Jersey Shore USA
  • Interests:Malware Research, dSLR Photography, Numismatics & Surf Fishing
Files are digitally signed Anvei Technology Co. LTD. Who is Anvei Technology Co. ?

If it is a Beta version and "...there is no database update in our beta version..." then its a failure as far as I am concerned.
David H. Lipman
DLipman@Verizon.Net

#10
GT500

    Mostly Cantankerous

  • Trusted Advisors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,016 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fortville, IN

David H. Lipman said:

...

If it is a Beta version and "...there is no database update in our beta version..." then its a failure as far as I am concerned.

Database version is 01.01.01 but is dated today.

Also, I cannot find anything that their "cloud scanner" actually detects. Does this software do anything? It did delete my temp files when it said it did, but it did it without me clicking 'fix', so I can't say I trust it.

Quote

For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, and against the worldly governors, the princes of the darkness of this world...

#11
GT500

    Mostly Cantankerous

  • Trusted Advisors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,016 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fortville, IN
Interesting... nxee.com forwards to the Anvisoft homepage...

Quote

For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, and against the worldly governors, the princes of the darkness of this world...

#12
GT500

    Mostly Cantankerous

  • Trusted Advisors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,016 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fortville, IN
I wonder if they are related to this company:
Anvisoft Technologies India Pvt Ltd 
Website: http://www.innroad.com
Executive Name: P.V. Ratnakar
Address: Anvisoft Technologies India pvt ltd
7th Floor, 2A, Maximus Towers, Mindspace complex,
HYDERABAD,Andhra Pradesh,India 500001
Email Address: ******@innroad.com
Telephone: 91-40-4033****

I'm not seeing anything that links them together, so may just be a similarly named company.

Quote

For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, and against the worldly governors, the princes of the darkness of this world...

#13
GT500

    Mostly Cantankerous

  • Trusted Advisors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,016 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fortville, IN
I'm not finding anything else. No information as to who they are and where they came from. From their website I would say that they are clearly not natively English-speaking, but that doesn't exactly tell us much about them.

Quote

For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, and against the worldly governors, the princes of the darkness of this world...

#14
goldhound

    Forum Deity

  • Spam Hunters
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,139 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

View PostGT500, on 18 January 2012 - 08:50 PM, said:

I wonder if they are related to this company:
Anvisoft Technologies India Pvt Ltd
Website: http://www.innroad.com
Executive Name: P.V. Ratnakar
Address: Anvisoft Technologies India pvt ltd
7th Floor, 2A, Maximus Towers, Mindspace complex,
HYDERABAD,Andhra Pradesh,India 500001
Email Address: ******@innroad.com
Telephone: 91-40-4033****

I'm not seeing anything that links them together, so may just be a similarly named company.


looking at the forum link that BornSlippy posted, top right shows forum/global moderator, "Rats" hmmmmmmm.
MBAM Paid edition

#15
GT500

    Mostly Cantankerous

  • Trusted Advisors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,016 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fortville, IN

goldhound said:

looking at the forum link that BornSlippy posted, top right shows forum/global moderator, "Rats" hmmmmmmm.

I've seen worse user names... :lol:

Quote

For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, and against the worldly governors, the princes of the darkness of this world...

#16
goldhound

    Forum Deity

  • Spam Hunters
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,139 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

View PostGT500, on 18 January 2012 - 11:16 PM, said:

I've seen worse user names... :lol:

:D I was thinking of the "Rat" connection here......

"I wonder if they are related to this company:
Anvisoft Technologies India Pvt Ltd
Website: http://www.innroad.com
Executive Name: P.V. Ratnakar"
MBAM Paid edition

#17
GT500

    Mostly Cantankerous

  • Trusted Advisors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,016 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fortville, IN
Wow... I didn't even see that... :lol:

Quote

For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, and against the worldly governors, the princes of the darkness of this world...

#18
nicola

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sardynia
  • Interests:Music, hifi, headphones, watch......I don't like malware
Look this

http://forums.anviso...ic-16-87-0.html

:lol: :lol: :lol:
Nicola

#19
GT500

    Mostly Cantankerous

  • Trusted Advisors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,016 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fortville, IN

nicola said:


Now that's comedy. :lol:

Quote

For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, and against the worldly governors, the princes of the darkness of this world...

#20
ShyWriter

    Forum Deity

  • Software Updaters
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,298 posts
  • Gender:Male
.
What a dope.. I like the "I used malware bytes ain't malware to get rid of the virus." in that thread as well..

Attached File  ScreenHunter_06 Jan. 24 19.41.gif   26.17K   2 downloads

Steve..
Go get 'em Arthur.. :lol: :D

.

Posted Image






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Follow Us