Jump to content

Malwarebytes

What is this?


4 replies to this topic

#1
TheHatter

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
So i was looking through a bunch of things i don't need and i come upon:

ASPCA TriMini Reminder by We-Care.com


I don't remember ever getting this and was wondering what it is. Is it safe? or should i delete it?

#2
BornSlippy

    Iconoclast

  • Malware Hunters
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,774 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London & Lincoln
It's a pretty harmless online shopping reminder.
Go here for their removal instructions
Posted Image

#3
TheHatter

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

View PostBornSlippy, on 04 July 2012 - 09:53 AM, said:

It's a pretty harmless online shopping reminder.
Go here for their removal instructions
How did it get on my computer though? Did it come pre installed?

#4
TheHatter

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
And also, in your link they called it wecarereminder while mines just came up as ASPCA TriMini Reminder by We-Care.com in the control panel where i can uninstall things.

Sorry if I sound paranoid but these few days I have been dealing with some things and a virus is the last thing I want to deal with.

#5
BornSlippy

    Iconoclast

  • Malware Hunters
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,774 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London & Lincoln
It could have come from a number of sources including being bundled with legitimate freeware programs. Many free applications are financially supported by the inclusion of 'adware' which is usually, though not always optional (via opting in or out).
Here's another link that may help
Posted Image





2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users

Follow Us