Could someone please look into this? I am not sure if its a concern or not, but I just got word from a couple friends that they just found out that the Fancheck and the Friend Character (possibly Friend Character) applications on Facebook are infected with a virus and/or computer worm.
People can tag you without you even adding the application, which stinks.
I posted an alert on my Facebook page just in case and tagged my friends... I don't want them to get infected.
At any rate, would someone possibly be able to look into this?
If this is in the wrong category I apologize, I wasn't sure where to post it.
#1
Posted 14 September 2009 - 01:44 PM
#2
Posted 14 September 2009 - 03:21 PM
Hi,
This is indeed known. Please see here:
http://www.sophos.com/blogs/gc/g/2009/09/0...-leads-malware/
But here it's rather the google search for it to avoid
Also take a look at the following more applications to avoid:
http://countermeasures.trendmicro.eu/rogue...ds-to-phishing/
http://countermeasures.trendmicro.eu/two-m...-fucabook-scam/
This is indeed known. Please see here:
http://www.sophos.com/blogs/gc/g/2009/09/0...-leads-malware/
But here it's rather the google search for it to avoid
Also take a look at the following more applications to avoid:
http://countermeasures.trendmicro.eu/rogue...ds-to-phishing/
http://countermeasures.trendmicro.eu/two-m...-fucabook-scam/
#3
Posted 14 September 2009 - 03:26 PM
thank you so much for responding!
I'll make an update on my page and inform my friends.
on your third link,
part of the url is:
-fucabook-scam
is that correct or should it be facebook instead of fucabook?
I did find a little blurb after googling, its from a social networking blog that checks on virus scares like this (I looked at the google cache just in case) and found this:
We believe that this is merely a two part: on one hand, you have a defunct application that allegedly lets you see who’s been visiting your Facebook profile – which cannot work due to Facebook’s policies, and all applications claiming to do so are scams.
On the other hand, spammers and malicious hackers are feeding the rumors around this application to lead people to search for a solution, and getting their computers infected by malware in return.
I'll make an update on my page and inform my friends.
on your third link,
part of the url is:
-fucabook-scam
is that correct or should it be facebook instead of fucabook?
I did find a little blurb after googling, its from a social networking blog that checks on virus scares like this (I looked at the google cache just in case) and found this:
We believe that this is merely a two part: on one hand, you have a defunct application that allegedly lets you see who’s been visiting your Facebook profile – which cannot work due to Facebook’s policies, and all applications claiming to do so are scams.
On the other hand, spammers and malicious hackers are feeding the rumors around this application to lead people to search for a solution, and getting their computers infected by malware in return.
#4
Posted 14 September 2009 - 03:38 PM
Quote
is that correct or should it be facebook instead of fucabook?
#5
Posted 14 September 2009 - 03:40 PM
@ Miekiemoes
Thank you for clarifying that for me! I wasn't sure if there was a typo or not. Is this a social networking site also? (fucabook)
Thank you for clarifying that for me! I wasn't sure if there was a typo or not. Is this a social networking site also? (fucabook)
#6
Posted 14 September 2009 - 03:46 PM
No, fucabook is a scamsite
#7
Posted 14 September 2009 - 03:47 PM
@ Miekemoes
Thanks for clarifying that for me too.
I had no idea about any of this until today when a friend told me, but it doesn't surprise me at all, unfortunately.
I had no idea about any of this until today when a friend told me, but it doesn't surprise me at all, unfortunately.
#8
Posted 14 September 2009 - 04:17 PM
@ Miekemoes,
Two more questions for you:
My friend is using this application and tagged a picture with me in it, but I haven't added it myself.
It's called "who is following you"?
do you know if that's safe or anything else about it?
And the other, does Malwarebytes get rid of the fancheck and other scareware malware?
Two more questions for you:
My friend is using this application and tagged a picture with me in it, but I haven't added it myself.
It's called "who is following you"?
Quote
hxxp://apps.facebook.com/whoibfaffaae
do you know if that's safe or anything else about it?
And the other, does Malwarebytes get rid of the fancheck and other scareware malware?
#9
Posted 14 September 2009 - 04:28 PM
Hi,
It appears to be the application "Who is following you". If I was you, I wouldn't use it. Always be careful with Facebook applications.
Unfortunately I cannot tell you which ones are good or bad to use, but it may be an idea to follow the Trendmicro Countermeasures blog: http://countermeasures.trendmicro.eu/
Rik updates it often with news related with facebook (and others) and what to watch out for
Yes, malwarebytes blocks + gets rid of the scareware malware.
It appears to be the application "Who is following you". If I was you, I wouldn't use it. Always be careful with Facebook applications.
Unfortunately I cannot tell you which ones are good or bad to use, but it may be an idea to follow the Trendmicro Countermeasures blog: http://countermeasures.trendmicro.eu/
Rik updates it often with news related with facebook (and others) and what to watch out for
Yes, malwarebytes blocks + gets rid of the scareware malware.
#10
Posted 14 September 2009 - 04:44 PM
Thanks 
Yeah, probably not a good idea to use it, I'll tell her.
I only use two currently, and haven't had any problems so far. Then again, I haven't used them very much in a long time.
I am very wary of Facebook applications and pretty much don't use them for three reasons:
1) They pull your profile info/your friends etc... and I don't like that at all.
2) You never know what's safe or not, as this clearly demonstrates.
3) I don't have much time for that stuff.
Thank you for the link, I'll bookmark it and make my friends aware of it as well!
It's good to know that Malwarebytes blocks the scareware malware
Yeah, probably not a good idea to use it, I'll tell her.
I only use two currently, and haven't had any problems so far. Then again, I haven't used them very much in a long time.
I am very wary of Facebook applications and pretty much don't use them for three reasons:
1) They pull your profile info/your friends etc... and I don't like that at all.
2) You never know what's safe or not, as this clearly demonstrates.
3) I don't have much time for that stuff.
Thank you for the link, I'll bookmark it and make my friends aware of it as well!
It's good to know that Malwarebytes blocks the scareware malware
1 user(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users
Sign In
Create Account

Back to top









