I'm not sure, but is having the same "virus name" illegal? Just to clear this up? Because i was browsing through their forums, and I noticed they conduct some tests, putting their product against yours...
#21
Posted 02 November 2009 - 04:53 PM
#22
Posted 02 November 2009 - 04:53 PM
Malwarebytes' DB gets stolen by IOBit, action requested
I just published a news article to help spread the word about it.
I just published a news article to help spread the word about it.
#23
Posted 02 November 2009 - 04:54 PM
I have been peeping around these forums for a bit and finally made a forums account.
I will email all the sites but can't find a proper e-mail to contact download.com/cnet or brothersoft
Could someone post here and/or message me a list of e-mails who host IOBit software?
Thanks for the help and best wishes for the Malwarebytes team!
I will email all the sites but can't find a proper e-mail to contact download.com/cnet or brothersoft
Could someone post here and/or message me a list of e-mails who host IOBit software?
Thanks for the help and best wishes for the Malwarebytes team!
#24
Posted 02 November 2009 - 04:57 PM
elohelomg said:
... But like i said, if you guys are 100% sure, I cannot suggest anything else. I can only ask that you hear their side of the story.
As Bruce mentioned in a reply above, fake (and quite harmless) 'malware' was created, and not published. IOBit had no access to it, but the detection was added to the MBAM database. It became obvious theft when IOBit began detecting something that wasn't real with almost the same name that we use, and which was not made public until today. There is no other possible conclusion. It defies logic that they could have done anything other than steal the database.
Their side of the story should be "We are sorry, and we will stop stealing the databases of other vendors." They should also offer to pay the various vendors for the use of their databases.
What has happened here is not just unethical or immoral. It is illegal.
Quote
For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, and against the worldly governors, the princes of the darkness of this world...
#25
Posted 02 November 2009 - 04:58 PM
Then i have nothing further to say. I await Iobit's response...
#26
Posted 02 November 2009 - 05:00 PM
I just heard back from Lee Koo at CNET. Coming from him the download.com people may get on this quickly.
Quote
Thanks Rod... very interesting.
I’ll forward it to a few people from the Download.com team.
Thanks!
-Lee
I’ll forward it to a few people from the Download.com team.
Thanks!
-Lee
#27
Posted 02 November 2009 - 05:04 PM
roddy32 said:
I just heard back from Lee Koo at CNET. Coming from him the download.com people may get on this quickly.
Thank you for your assistance.
Quote
For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, and against the worldly governors, the princes of the darkness of this world...
#28
Posted 02 November 2009 - 05:06 PM
elohelomg said:
I'm not sure, but is having the same "virus name" illegal?
As GT500 said above, the indication of theft is not solely that they name some things the same way -- at least not for real malware. Many vendors do that. However, since the fake name Rogue.AVCleanSweepPro we made up does not actually exist anywhere in the wild, that alone would be an indication of theft.
The real indication of theft though is that they detect, under the same names, fake files that we (1) built ourselves internally, (2) never released to the internet, and (3) added fake definitions for to our own database. The only explanation is that they are stealing the definitions directly from our database.
EDIT: to clarify details.
Edited by Swandog46, 02 November 2009 - 05:09 PM.
#29
Posted 02 November 2009 - 05:22 PM
The thing is, China plays by different rules - intellectual property is not deemed as important over there as in North America and Europe. Most Chinese would actually not see a problem with this at all, so there's probably not a lot you can do to fix this apart from raise awareness and get it removed off some download sites.
Quite audacious, really. I suppose you have to give them some credit for the sheer blatant cheek of it all!
Quite audacious, really. I suppose you have to give them some credit for the sheer blatant cheek of it all!
#30
Posted 02 November 2009 - 05:26 PM
Emailed both and even posted about their ethical issues here.
http://www.mywot.com...bit.com#comment
http://www.mywot.com...bit.com#comment
The greatest mistake you can make in life is to be continuously fearing you will make one.
#31
Posted 02 November 2009 - 05:28 PM
Hi Swandog, hi everyone,
Very nice (beautiful) to see so many people at bottom of the screen! Wow! The anti-malware community is alerted!
Okay to follow your instructions, coordinate our posts and not write subjective words.
With you all at MB of course.
Specialforce posted about behavior in China; I read it might be similar in India!
Sorry if I didn't read carefully everything... what do IOBit say if you complain?
Very nice (beautiful) to see so many people at bottom of the screen! Wow! The anti-malware community is alerted!
Okay to follow your instructions, coordinate our posts and not write subjective words.
With you all at MB of course.
Specialforce posted about behavior in China; I read it might be similar in India!
Sorry if I didn't read carefully everything... what do IOBit say if you complain?
#32
Posted 02 November 2009 - 05:30 PM
Haha funny thing is...a lot of people are testing it, too. I wonder if any one else has noticed so far. I saw the detection of Malwarebytes lots of times, and then I saw detection of IOBit, and I will agree I have seen fully similar malware names.
The funny part was this: http://www.iobit.com/testnow.html
The funny part was this: http://www.iobit.com/testnow.html
#33
Posted 02 November 2009 - 05:34 PM
I added my own say in WOT and informed friends that use iobit, This is poor form from them indeed.
Vista HB 32 bit,WoT,ABP,Sandboxie free,MBAM,Ccleaner,NoScript,AVG 2011 free,Hostsman
#34
Posted 02 November 2009 - 05:35 PM
Howdy,
I registered at Wot long ago: I'm going to add my comment too!
MarkAW, on Nov 2 2009, 11:26 PM, said:
Emailed both and even posted about their ethical issues here.
http://www.mywot.com...bit.com#comment
http://www.mywot.com...bit.com#comment
Quote
Ethical issues 4
I registered at Wot long ago: I'm going to add my comment too!
#35
Posted 02 November 2009 - 05:38 PM
It should get quite a bit of comments on WOT: http://www.mywot.com/en/forum/4775-iobit-s...ectual-property
#36
Posted 02 November 2009 - 05:52 PM
I posted on avast! forum:
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=480...27701#msg427701
Illegitimi non carborundum
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=480...27701#msg427701
Illegitimi non carborundum
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Win7 Home Premium 64-bit, avast! V6.0 Free, IE9
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3, 32-bit, avast! V6.0 Pro, Macrium Reflect
with IE8 and Chrome, hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, MBAM Full, OpenDNS, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3, 32-bit, avast! V6.0 Pro, Macrium Reflect
with IE8 and Chrome, hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, MBAM Full, OpenDNS, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS
#37
Posted 02 November 2009 - 05:57 PM
Just for the record I stopped posting at IObit a few months back for a few different reasons. Didn't see this coming but I can't say I'm surprised either.
#38
Posted 02 November 2009 - 06:00 PM
specialforce, on Nov 2 2009, 05:22 PM, said:
The thing is, China plays by different rules - intellectual property is not deemed as important over there as in North America and Europe. Most Chinese would actually not see a problem with this at all, so there's probably not a lot you can do to fix this apart from raise awareness and get it removed off some download sites.
I like to look at the bright side of things : it's never too late to learn
Great job Team. :thumbsUp:
Cheers,
#39
Posted 02 November 2009 - 06:08 PM
#40
Posted 02 November 2009 - 06:14 PM
2 user(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sign In
Create Account
This topic is locked
Back to top















