Jump to content

Malwarebytes

IOBit Steals Malwarebytes' Intellectual Property


142 replies to this topic

#21
elohelomg

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
I'm not sure, but is having the same "virus name" illegal? Just to clear this up? Because i was browsing through their forums, and I noticed they conduct some tests, putting their product against yours...

#22
DragonMaster Jay

    True Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 379 posts
  • Gender:Male
Malwarebytes' DB gets stolen by IOBit, action requested

I just published a news article to help spread the word about it.

#23
pifreak

    Regular Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPip
  • 98 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wisconsin, USA
  • Interests:Computer Science and programming, etc.
I have been peeping around these forums for a bit and finally made a forums account.

I will email all the sites but can't find a proper e-mail to contact download.com/cnet or brothersoft

Could someone post here and/or message me a list of e-mails who host IOBit software?


Thanks for the help and best wishes for the Malwarebytes team!
Posted Image

#24
GT500

    Mostly Cantankerous

  • Trusted Advisors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,016 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fortville, IN

elohelomg said:

... But like i said, if you guys are 100% sure, I cannot suggest anything else. I can only ask that you hear their side of the story.

As Bruce mentioned in a reply above, fake (and quite harmless) 'malware' was created, and not published. IOBit had no access to it, but the detection was added to the MBAM database. It became obvious theft when IOBit began detecting something that wasn't real with almost the same name that we use, and which was not made public until today. There is no other possible conclusion. It defies logic that they could have done anything other than steal the database.

Their side of the story should be "We are sorry, and we will stop stealing the databases of other vendors." They should also offer to pay the various vendors for the use of their databases.

What has happened here is not just unethical or immoral. It is illegal.

Quote

For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, and against the worldly governors, the princes of the darkness of this world...

#25
elohelomg

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
Then i have nothing further to say. I await Iobit's response... ;)

#26
roddy32

    New Member

  • Experts
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kansas, USA
  • Interests:Nascar and Red Sox baseball
I just heard back from Lee Koo at CNET. Coming from him the download.com people may get on this quickly.

Quote

Thanks Rod... very interesting.

I’ll forward it to a few people from the Download.com team.

Thanks!
-Lee

Log'n'Rock Computer Security

Microsoft MVP Consumer Security 2006-2012

#27
GT500

    Mostly Cantankerous

  • Trusted Advisors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,016 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fortville, IN

roddy32 said:

I just heard back from Lee Koo at CNET. Coming from him the download.com people may get on this quickly.

Thank you for your assistance. ;)

Quote

For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, and against the worldly governors, the princes of the darkness of this world...

#28
Swandog46

    Elite Member

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 956 posts

elohelomg said:

I'm not sure, but is having the same "virus name" illegal?

As GT500 said above, the indication of theft is not solely that they name some things the same way -- at least not for real malware. Many vendors do that. However, since the fake name Rogue.AVCleanSweepPro we made up does not actually exist anywhere in the wild, that alone would be an indication of theft.

The real indication of theft though is that they detect, under the same names, fake files that we (1) built ourselves internally, (2) never released to the internet, and (3) added fake definitions for to our own database. The only explanation is that they are stealing the definitions directly from our database.

EDIT: to clarify details.

Edited by Swandog46, 02 November 2009 - 05:09 PM.

Doug Swanson
Vice President of Development

Posted Image

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

#29
specialforce

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
The thing is, China plays by different rules - intellectual property is not deemed as important over there as in North America and Europe. Most Chinese would actually not see a problem with this at all, so there's probably not a lot you can do to fix this apart from raise awareness and get it removed off some download sites.

Quite audacious, really. I suppose you have to give them some credit for the sheer blatant cheek of it all!

#30
MarkAW

    Regular Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada
Emailed both and even posted about their ethical issues here.
http://www.mywot.com...bit.com#comment
The greatest mistake you can make in life is to be continuously fearing you will make one.

#31
ipl_001

    Advanced Member

  • Experts
  • PipPipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris, France
  • Interests:Genealogy, Languages and Linguistic, Computing, Sciences and Cultures
Hi Swandog, hi everyone,

Very nice (beautiful) to see so many people at bottom of the screen! Wow! The anti-malware community is alerted!

Okay to follow your instructions, coordinate our posts and not write subjective words.

With you all at MB of course.

Specialforce posted about behavior in China; I read it might be similar in India!
Sorry if I didn't read carefully everything... what do IOBit say if you complain?
Gérard Posted Image Posted Image Don't give up... that is what they want us to do... Budfred!
Posted Image Posted Image

#32
DragonMaster Jay

    True Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 379 posts
  • Gender:Male
Haha funny thing is...a lot of people are testing it, too. I wonder if any one else has noticed so far. I saw the detection of Malwarebytes lots of times, and then I saw detection of IOBit, and I will agree I have seen fully similar malware names.

The funny part was this: http://www.iobit.com/testnow.html

#33
chimpy

    Elite Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 786 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:North of England
I added my own say in WOT and informed friends that use iobit, This is poor form from them indeed.
Vista HB 32 bit,WoT,ABP,Sandboxie free,MBAM,Ccleaner,NoScript,AVG 2011 free,Hostsman

#34
ipl_001

    Advanced Member

  • Experts
  • PipPipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris, France
  • Interests:Genealogy, Languages and Linguistic, Computing, Sciences and Cultures
Howdy,

View PostMarkAW, on Nov 2 2009, 11:26 PM, said:

Emailed both and even posted about their ethical issues here.
http://www.mywot.com...bit.com#comment

Quote

Ethical issues 4

I registered at Wot long ago: I'm going to add my comment too!
Gérard Posted Image Posted Image Don't give up... that is what they want us to do... Budfred!
Posted Image Posted Image

#35
DragonMaster Jay

    True Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 379 posts
  • Gender:Male
It should get quite a bit of comments on WOT: http://www.mywot.com/en/forum/4775-iobit-s...ectual-property

#36
YoKenny1

    Forum Deity

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,739 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ont. Canada
  • Interests:Using computers for learning.
    Happily retired IBMer after 31 years mainly in hardware maintenance.
I posted on avast! forum:
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=480...27701#msg427701

Illegitimi non carborundum
Posted Image
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Win7 Home Premium 64-bit, avast! V6.0 Free, IE9
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3, 32-bit, avast! V6.0 Pro, Macrium Reflect
with IE8 and Chrome, hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, MBAM Full, OpenDNS, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

#37
evilfantasy

    Advanced Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 157 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tulsa, OK
Just for the record I stopped posting at IObit a few months back for a few different reasons. Didn't see this coming but I can't say I'm surprised either.

#38
Mark

    Regular Member

  • Experts
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts

View Postspecialforce, on Nov 2 2009, 05:22 PM, said:

The thing is, China plays by different rules - intellectual property is not deemed as important over there as in North America and Europe. Most Chinese would actually not see a problem with this at all, so there's probably not a lot you can do to fix this apart from raise awareness and get it removed off some download sites.

I like to look at the bright side of things : it's never too late to learn ;)

Great job Team. :thumbsUp:

Cheers,
Posted Image
Member of ASAP since 2005

#39
ipl_001

    Advanced Member

  • Experts
  • PipPipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris, France
  • Interests:Genealogy, Languages and Linguistic, Computing, Sciences and Cultures

Quote

Ethical issues 29
( http://www.mywot.com...obit.com#page-1 )
Gérard Posted Image Posted Image Don't give up... that is what they want us to do... Budfred!
Posted Image Posted Image

#40
Jasper the Rasper

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West Berkshire, England.

View Postipl_001, on Nov 2 2009, 11:08 PM, said:


That makes it look pretty conclusive as regards their ethics. ;)
Member of ASAP

Posted Image
Microsoft® MVP Consumer Security 2007 - Current





2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users

Follow Us