Jump to content

Malwarebytes

216.240.187.102 is driving me crazy


3 replies to this topic

#1
Bob Wallinger

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
I'd hope this is a false positive, but who knows. I believe it is related to MSN Messenger. I'm installing the latest version of Messenger right now, and I've gotten probably 30 pop-ups from the IP Protection Module. Can someone please check this out before I lose my mind ;)
Thanks
Bob

#2
SpySentinel

    Forum Deity

  • Experts
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,848 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The United States
  • Interests:Fighting/Analyzing Malware & Social Media
Hi Bob, welcome to Malwarebytes ;)


The IP range 216.240.187. is connected to over 272 malicious websites. It is not a F/P.
Matt Russo
Social Media Specialist

Posted Image

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

#3
Bob Wallinger

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

View PostSpySentinel, on Nov 4 2009, 10:15 AM, said:

Hi Bob, welcome to Malwarebytes ;)


The IP range 216.240.187. is connected to over 272 malicious websites. It is not a F/P.


Is there anyway you can confirm for me that it is MSN Messenger that is causing the annoyance?

Bob

#4
SpySentinel

    Forum Deity

  • Experts
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,848 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The United States
  • Interests:Fighting/Analyzing Malware & Social Media
Hi Bob,

The site that closely relates to the IP is from msn-messenger-9.com which is a rogue site.
http://www.malwareurl.com/search.php?domai...se=on&as=on

Also, to make sure you are not infected you can post in our HJT Log/Malware Removal Forums.
Read this to learn how to post in our HJT Forum.
Matt Russo
Social Media Specialist

Posted Image

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Follow Us