Jump to content

Malwarebytes

Daily Telegraph


3 replies to this topic

#1
gr277

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kent, UK
Using Firefox, I often access the "Daily Telegraph" web site, via tabbed browsing. (a respected UK Newspaper)

Since an hour ago, every time I try to access this web site, I get an alert telling me that "Malwarebytes Antimalware has successfully blocked access to malicious 62.41.85.72".....!!!

I can not understand this, as the Daily Telegraph site in not malicious.

I have tried to access the site using IE8, with the same result.

Is it possible that the Daily Telegraph site has been compromised, and Malwarebytes is detecting this?

I am at a loss as to the reason for this alert.

I have just scan my machine with Malwarebytes and nothing is detected.

I would be grateful for any advice.

P.S. Apologies if this is posted in the wrong section.

#2
MysteryFCM

    Forum Deity

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,232 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tyneside, UK
I can confirm it's not the Daily Telegraph's site that's been blocked as their site is on a completely different IP network. The IP you listed however, is on a network that is well known for malicious activity;

http://hosts-file.net/?s=62.41.85.72

Unfortunately I was unable to reproduce the notification you mentioned whilst accessing their website, so whilst I'm 99% sure, I can only speculate, that it was one of the adverts on the site that was to blame for this.
Steven Burn
Research Engineer

Posted Image

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

#3
gr277

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kent, UK

View PostMysteryFCM, on Nov 17 2009, 11:22 PM, said:

I can confirm it's not the Daily Telegraph's site that's been blocked as their site is on a completely different IP network. The IP you listed however, is on a network that is well known for malicious activity;

http://hosts-file.net/?s=62.41.85.72

Unfortunately I was unable to reproduce the notification you mentioned whilst accessing their website, so whilst I'm 99% sure, I can only speculate, that it was one of the adverts on the site that was to blame for this.


Thank you for the response MysteryFCM. This morning, there is no difficulty with accessing the site.

All credit to MBAM for picking up a potential problem....

#4
MysteryFCM

    Forum Deity

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,232 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tyneside, UK
No problem at all, just glad to help :)
Steven Burn
Research Engineer

Posted Image

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Follow Us