#1
Posted 19 November 2009 - 02:09 PM
So, I went to malwarebytes.org. I clicked the download free version. But then a page opened from cnet.com
http://download.cnet...alwarebytes-An…
I clicked download now and then a box popped up saying
mbam-setup.exe from software-files.cnet.com
my internet connection log shows entries for cnet.com and dw.com.com
I never went to dw.com.com
when I checked on www.safeweb.norton.com and www.siteadvisor.com for both cnet.com and dw.com.com as far as safety, there were postings talking about downloads from these sites containing virus and trojans
So this has me concerned
so is this the official way to download the free malwarebytes, through cnet.com? Is there anyway to download it directly from the malwarebytes.org page?
#2
Posted 19 November 2009 - 02:42 PM
I hope that your system is okay! To be sure, do a full scan with your AntiVirus (AV) and then after you've followed my directions below, do a quick scan with Malwarebytes
Yes, the direct link from the Malwarebytes page is this link here: http://www.malwareby...am-download.php
(it randomly picks a download link from download.com or majorgeeks, and I think there are one or two other sites, but I've noticed that it usually picks download.com)
After recommendation from Exile, one of our experts here, to use MajorGeeks, that is the only way I download Mbam now (and what I also recommend), and here is that link for you as well. http://majorgeeks.co...ware_d5756.html
I've included a screenshot of where you should click
Also, if MajorGeeks doesn't start download immediately or soon after clicking, they will provide a link for you to click on to download it manually. If you need a screen shot of that too, let me know!
Also, you should follow these directions here as well (prior to download from download.com or MajorGeeks, which is where I recommend you download Mbam from also), and download a fresh copy via MajorGeeks, just to make sure everything gets installed correctly and everything
http://www.malwareby...?showtopic=7038
Of course, if you are using the Free version, disregard the Note: on RubbeR DuckY's post
There is not a direct download of Malwarebytes available from Malwarebytes.org itself, though, if you were wondering that.
#3
Posted 19 November 2009 - 02:49 PM
#4
Posted 19 November 2009 - 02:52 PM
#5
Posted 19 November 2009 - 02:58 PM
I had it in my guide here:
But I'm not at Neowin anymore
Edited by AdvancedSetup, 19 November 2009 - 09:40 PM.
link removed
#6
Posted 19 November 2009 - 03:02 PM

Dell Precision T5400, Win7 Ultimate 32bit fully updated, Symantec Endpoint Protection,
Watchguard Firewall, Intel Xeon CPU, Dual Quad Core Processors, 4GB Ram,
E5410 @ 2.33GHz, Nvidia Quadro FX570, Raid-1 Dual 500GB Sata 10000 rpm Hard Drives
Dual DVD Burners, IE9, Opera, MBAM
#7
Posted 19 November 2009 - 03:02 PM
by the way, why is it that when I go to the free download on here (malwarebytes.org) the download takes me to cnet.com?
#8
Posted 19 November 2009 - 03:03 PM
By the way, this is where I am now
#9
Posted 19 November 2009 - 03:05 PM
Yes, the direct link I gave you usually does to go download.com/cnet, which I don't like to use anymore and don't recommend to others either (mainly because of all the ads on their site, some of them rogue-ish) and also I trust MG more after recommendations from Exile
I recommend using the link that I gave you to Major Geeks
#10
Posted 19 November 2009 - 03:11 PM
so why does the malwarebytes site send one to cnet.com?
#11
Posted 19 November 2009 - 03:13 PM
Just about every download in the world sends you to some other Server to download from
It depends upon your location, and where the site chooses for today
#12
Posted 19 November 2009 - 03:20 PM
Because download.com is a hosting site for Malwarebytes, and actually I believe is their #1 download site (meaning a lot of people get Malwarebytes from there).
Sometimes that link will take you to MajorGeeks too, which is also a hosting site, and I think a site called filehippo, which I don't really know anything about.
#13
Posted 19 November 2009 - 03:24 PM
Edited by AdvancedSetup, 19 November 2009 - 09:43 PM.
link removed
#14
Posted 19 November 2009 - 03:29 PM
C:\ProgramFiles\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware and the mbam.exe is digitally signed as well as a few others (mbamgui.exe mbam.dll to name a few)
#15
Posted 19 November 2009 - 03:32 PM
http://www.filehippo...s_anti_malware/

Dell Precision T5400, Win7 Ultimate 32bit fully updated, Symantec Endpoint Protection,
Watchguard Firewall, Intel Xeon CPU, Dual Quad Core Processors, 4GB Ram,
E5410 @ 2.33GHz, Nvidia Quadro FX570, Raid-1 Dual 500GB Sata 10000 rpm Hard Drives
Dual DVD Burners, IE9, Opera, MBAM
#16
Posted 19 November 2009 - 03:34 PM
yes, I think that you are just fine! The first few times I downloaded mbam, I used download.com and nothing bad happened to my computer or my friends that I downloaded it on
And yes, it should be digitally signed, and those file names seem normal to Malwarebytes
But yes, you should be fine! If you do have any doubts though, just follow the directions in my first reply to you in this thread, and let me know if you have any questions.
#17
Posted 19 November 2009 - 03:43 PM
I read some bad things about downloads from cnet.com, but tha may have had to do with other programs people downloaded
Mountaintree- is the main reason you don't like cnet.com because the ads? I mean you don't feel that they download virus packaged with legit programs like malwarebytes, do you?
#18
Posted 19 November 2009 - 03:51 PM
You are very welcome!
Yeah, the main reason I don't like download.com / cnet is because of the ads. They are big and annoying, and sometimes less-savvy users accidentally download from the advertisements (it usually will say "ad" or "sponsored ad" or something similar to that either on top of or near the ad) and could potentially end up infecting themselves. Such as the ad on there I frequently see when I check the download page for Mbam on download.com, "Cyber Defender", which I don't know for sure if its a rogue, but it appears as though it could be that way.
While MajorGeeks has ads as well, they aren't as prominently displayed and aren't as annoying, and users are less likely to accidentally download something that they don't mean to be downloading.
You shouldn't have contracted any virus or malware from your Malwarebytes download from download.com, no. and yes, the bad reviews you read likely had to do with other programs people had downloaded. Once in a great while I am sure there is some program on there that is less than legit and could even contain an infection. It's always good to read reviews of a software product, and now that you are joined up on the forum here, if you are unsure of a program, if you want to post about it, feel free to and someone who might know something about it could check for you and let you know what they think.
#19
Posted 19 November 2009 - 03:55 PM
#20
Posted 19 November 2009 - 04:01 PM
You're not dense, you're just concerned and seem to be a little new at this, and so you have questions, and that is definitely okay!
Like I said before though, if you are especially concerned, please follow the directions in the first post I replied to you with in this thread, and if you still feel that you may be infected, read the following and follow its directions:
We don't work on Malware removal in the general forums.
Please read and follow the directions here, skipping any steps you are unable to complete. Then post a NEW topic here.
One of the expert helpers there will give you one-on-one assistance when one becomes available.
Please be advised though, that its quite busy in there so it could take 48 hours or more for a response. If its been more than 48 hours, feel free to reply to your post asking for review. Do not add more replies than this though to your post; this can make it appear as though you are getting helped and thus can take longer for a helper to notice that you need help.
1 user(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users
Sign In
Create Account
This topic is locked

Back to top









