Malwarebytes

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> MBAM Download Link
Yourhighness
post Jul 13 2008, 11:20 AM
Post #1


Advanced Member
***

Group: Experts
Posts: 132
Joined: 23-February 08
From: Hamburg, Germany
Member No.: 2,138



Hey guys,

The button that reads "download" here: http://malwarebytes.org/mbam.php directs you to brothersoft. Its blocked by my hosts file. Since a few others use such, I just thought I would point it out. The other servers are fine, just brothersoft that wont work for me.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
EliteKiller
post Jul 13 2008, 12:53 PM
Post #2


I'm Not Who I Think I Am
**

Group: Honorary Members
Posts: 74
Joined: 22-June 08
Member No.: 2,690



Discussed here: http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=214187

Brothersoft is also hosting rogue anti-malware software. A couple of examples:

Spyware Nuker
http://www.malwarebytes.org/roguenet.php?id=193
(De-listed on Spyware Warrior)

Spyware Hospital
http://www.malwarebytes.org/roguenet.php?id=219

In the end there are other reputable apps, such as SUPERAntiSpyware, hosted on Brothersoft, so it probably comes down to economics.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RubbeR DuckY
post Jul 13 2008, 03:49 PM
Post #3


Marcin
******

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 4,778
Joined: 15-October 05
Member No.: 1



I will have a talk with the owner about delisting some of those scum websites. Please list a few you would like gone.


--------------------
Marcin Kleczynski
President and CEO



Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Doktor Notor
post Jul 19 2008, 09:36 PM
Post #4


New Member
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 19-July 08
Member No.: 2,914



Not really sure what do you mean by "will have a talk with the owner". The download link has been discussed @ Comodo forum (see this and the following posts and the debate still continues @ Wilders Security. Once again: Pointing a primary download to a well-known scam site that is hosting tons of virii and malware means I've totally lost trust in your product! mad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
eXaByTe
post Jul 19 2008, 09:50 PM
Post #5


Regular Member
**

Group: Honorary Members
Posts: 57
Joined: 11-June 08
From: USA
Member No.: 2,599



QUOTE
Pointing a primary download to a well-known scam site that is hosting tons of virii and malware means I've totally lost trust in your product! mad.gif



I think the vast majority of programs on BrotherSoft is legitimate. wink.gif


-eXaByTe


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cordialis
post Jul 19 2008, 09:56 PM
Post #6


Regular Member
**

Group: Honorary Members
Posts: 59
Joined: 6-June 08
Member No.: 2,568



QUOTE (eXaByTe @ Jul 19 2008, 11:50 PM) *
I think the vast majority of programs on BrotherSoft is legitimate. wink.gif


-eXaByTe
Well, so do I but having said that I also find that there are no major download site that don't have ethical problems. They are businesses first and foremost. And they compromise to get the profit. Medium sized and big software manufacturers homepages are usually safe. I prefer to download from the developers's sites these days.

Edit made: I took the word vendor out of my post and changed it to "manufacturers homepages".
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RubbeR DuckY
post Jul 19 2008, 10:05 PM
Post #7


Marcin
******

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 4,778
Joined: 15-October 05
Member No.: 1



We have made alterations to the mirror list.


--------------------
Marcin Kleczynski
President and CEO



Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Doktor Notor
post Jul 19 2008, 10:05 PM
Post #8


New Member
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 19-July 08
Member No.: 2,914



QUOTE (Cordialis @ Jul 19 2008, 11:56 PM) *
I prefer to download from the developers's sites these days.


Absolutely. Plus, if you really must distribute something via third-party mirrors (nothing wrong with that in principle) - at minimum you should list the checksums on your product homepage for users so that they can verify they've downloaded the stuff as intended by its developer. This absolutely is a no-brainer with security-oriented apps excl.gif

QUOTE (RubbeR DuckY @ Jul 20 2008, 12:05 AM) *
We have made alterations to the mirror list.


Much appreciated! cool.gif If I come across a trustworthy site willing to mirror your products, I'll keep you informed.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tarun
post Jul 20 2008, 12:23 AM
Post #9


True Member
****

Group: Experts
Posts: 387
Joined: 16-January 07
From: The TARDIS
Member No.: 958



I don't think a rogue, even former, should ever be trusted. Maybe they can still be flagged as Former.Rogue or something similar so people know there may still be danger?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
EliteKiller
post Jul 20 2008, 03:08 AM
Post #10


I'm Not Who I Think I Am
**

Group: Honorary Members
Posts: 74
Joined: 22-June 08
Member No.: 2,690



QUOTE (RubbeR DuckY @ Jul 19 2008, 05:05 PM) *
We have made alterations to the mirror list.

I appreciate you updating the mirror list on your website. However it appears that Brothersoft is still an affiliate and offering MBAM.

http://www.brothersoft.com/malwarebytes.-a...ware-71406.html
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RubbeR DuckY
post Jul 20 2008, 03:25 AM
Post #11


Marcin
******

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 4,778
Joined: 15-October 05
Member No.: 1



Doesn't mean they can't offer the download on their website .. they have many legit products listed there.


--------------------
Marcin Kleczynski
President and CEO



Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
EliteKiller
post Jul 20 2008, 03:29 AM
Post #12


I'm Not Who I Think I Am
**

Group: Honorary Members
Posts: 74
Joined: 22-June 08
Member No.: 2,690



QUOTE (RubbeR DuckY @ Jul 19 2008, 10:25 PM) *
Doesn't mean they can't offer the download on their website .. they have many legit products listed there.

As pointed out they also have many non-legit products on their website. If you approve of Brothersoft why did you remove the mirror from your website?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RubbeR DuckY
post Jul 20 2008, 03:41 AM
Post #13


Marcin
******

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 4,778
Joined: 15-October 05
Member No.: 1



a. If my users do not approve of them, I will do everything in my power to make my users happy. Done!
b. They are not an affiliate.


--------------------
Marcin Kleczynski
President and CEO



Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
eXaByTe
post Jul 20 2008, 06:11 PM
Post #14


Regular Member
**

Group: Honorary Members
Posts: 57
Joined: 11-June 08
From: USA
Member No.: 2,599



QUOTE (Cordialis @ Jul 19 2008, 03:56 PM) *
Well, so do I but having said that I also find that there are no major download site that don't have ethical problems. They are businesses first and foremost. And they compromise to get the profit. Medium sized and big software manufacturers homepages are usually safe. I prefer to download from the developers's sites these days.

Edit made: I took the word vendor out of my post and changed it to "manufacturers homepages".


You are right I suppose.


QUOTE (RubbeR DuckY @ Jul 19 2008, 04:05 PM) *
We have made alterations to the mirror list.


Thank you Marcin. biggrin.gif


-eXaByTe


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TJX
post Feb 11 2010, 04:35 AM
Post #15


New Member
*

Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 4-February 10
Member No.: 31,954



Just wanna point out that BROTHERSOFT is still the link provided in one of the Malware removal threads - http://forums.malwarebytes.org/index.php?s...+security\
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th July 2010 - 10:24 PM ()