[SOLVED] A bit of a noob question

Weyoun

Hi everyone :)

Please forgive my noob question, so I don't completely understand how this works. My questions may have been asked before so I apologize if they have. From what I do understand, MBAE will protect against websites attempting to drop a payload onto the computer through a "hole" or vulnerability in the browser or application. Also from what I understand, a "drive by" download is basically when something is downloaded onto the computer without the user's knowledge or consent, please correct me if I am wrong. Will MBAE protect against those such "drive by" downloads if I accidentally visit a website that attempts to download something like that? Again I do apologize for being a bit of a noob here :P

Sincerely,

*Weyoun*

• Staff

No need to apologize for asking questions. Other young and not-so-young users will surely benefit from your questions.

MBAE will protect against drive-by downloads which use application vulnerabilities to exploit a hole in the system and remotely execute code in your machine without requiring any intervention on your part. Basically in these scenarios you get infected simply by visiting a page. A real example of this was a few months ago when the NBC website was compromised for a few hours and any visitors to their website were exposed to the exploit or drive-by download.

In addition to exploit driven drive-by downloads MBAE also protects against other types of vulnerability exploits, such as malicious PDF, DOC, XLS, PPT and other types of maliciously rigged files which exploit vulnerabilities in their corresponding program (Acrobat Reader, MS Word, Excel, etc.). Hackers normally use these tactics and spam out these types of files attached to emails. The moment you open the rigged PDF file with Acrobat Reader it also silently runs some type of malware in your machine.

I hope this clarifies a bit how MBAE protects against exploits.

Hi pbust, thank you for the response :)