Are mbae and mbam not packable as one service?

21emanresu

1. I have a mbam (premium) license.  Considering $$$ mbae. I've noticed mbae checks for mbam running. Can these two services run with one license? If someone has purchased mbam why would they not want mbae anyway? So, why don't I already have the protection offered by mbae? "Because you haven't bought it yet you idiot!" Yeah I know, but do you follow? (See topic title) 

2. Are there any unresolved product compatibility issues with running MBAM & MBAE with NIS on this: AMD A6-6310 APU w/AMD Radeon R4 1.8GHz 8GB 64bit Win 8.1? I haven't selected exceptions w/in NIS for MBAM, have both programs configured aggressively, and am unaware of any problems with either service as a result.  

*Thank You for your time and consideration, btw any answers to the above will not affect your final grade because I have already failed this class for asking:(

Your post is not very clear but I'll try to answer what I understand:

1. afaik you need a separate license to run MBAE, but you can also just run the free version.

2a.  Differences in hardware should not affect the behavior of MBAE.

2b.  A list of known issues and conflicts can be found here: https://forums.malwarebytes.org/index.php?/topic/135127-known-issues-conflicts/

Hope this helps.

Regards,

regenpijp

• Staff

As @regenpijp said, you do need a separate license for MBAE. But keep in mind that MBAE Free does provide real-time protection for many browsers, all browser add-ons and Java, as well as Acrobat Reader when PDFs are opened from within the browser. So in reality MBAE Free does provide a lot of protection already without the need to purchase a separate license.

MBAE Premium does add protection for Office, PDF Readers, MediaPlayers and custom shields.

There shouldn't be any conflicts with the environments you mentioned.

• 3 weeks later...