Jump to content


Photo

Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 1.60 released


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
99 replies to this topic

#41 Rox829

Rox829

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 28 December 2011 - 01:22 PM

I have 1.51 Pro version on my Windows XP computer. I did the update and installation to 1.60 and now the program won't run. Clicking on the icon gives me the "Windows has encountered a problem" error, followed by "MBAMService has terminated unexpectedly -- see event log for details".

I did a System Restore to yesterday and the program still won't run. This time the error says "Run-time error 5; invalid procedure call or argument".

Help.

#42 ElPiedra

ElPiedra

    Regular Member

  • Experts
  • PipPip
  • 61 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Miami - Fl
  • Interests:Malware/IT Threats Researcher

Posted 28 December 2011 - 01:25 PM

Everthing fine with the new version, updater working correctly.

Well done the Malwarebytes team ;)



Salu2

Marcelo Rivero.
Microsoft MVP Enterprise Security
ForoSpyware.com Support Forum in Spanish
InfoSpyware.com Malware/IT Threats Researcher.

 

mvp_.png


#43 SDUJS

SDUJS

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 28 December 2011 - 01:35 PM

When will the corporate version be updated to 1.60?

Also, any movement on the enterprise console/edition?

Thanks,

Chris

#44 Maurice Naggar

Maurice Naggar

    Staff

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,550 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Security, Windows, Windows Update, malware prevention

Posted 28 December 2011 - 01:52 PM

I have 1.51 Pro version on my Windows XP computer. I did the update and installation to 1.60 and now the program won't run. Clicking on the icon gives me the "Windows has encountered a problem" error, followed by "MBAMService has terminated unexpectedly -- see event log for details".

I did a System Restore to yesterday and the program still won't run. This time the error says "Run-time error 5; invalid procedure call or argument".

Help.

@Rox829
In lieu of posting a problem-issue here in the Malware News section, you ought to have posted in the General MBAM forum
at http://forums.malwar...hp?showforum=41

Please follow this sequence for MBAM removal & re-install:
1) Go to Control Panel and Add-or-Remove programs.
uninstall Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware
Exit Control Panel

2) Logoff and restart your computer

Get, save, and then run the utility at the following link
http://www.malwareby.../mbam-clean.exe

3)Logoff and restart your computer again.

4)Now, reinstall Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware.

You may download a fresh copy for the reinstall from the following link:
http://malwarebytes....am-download.php

If you have MBAM PRO (have a license) you will need to reenter your ID and Key afterwards to get the Protection module enabled.

IF the issue is not resolved, again, start a new Topic in the General MBAM forum
AND be sure to state your Windows version and service pack level
AND name/version of antivirus app
AND name/version if any 3rd-party firewall and /or security app that are active with Windows startup

Good luck.
Maurice Naggar
Product Support

staff.png

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

I close my threads if there is 5 days without a response.

#45 Rox829

Rox829

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 28 December 2011 - 01:58 PM

Update:

Well, I semi-solved my problem with 1.60. Fortunately, I had another registered Pro 1.51 version on my laptop which I hadn't updated yet. I replaced the Malwarebytes files that had changed on my desktop with the same files from my laptop. The program is back to 1.51 and runs on my desktop.

Under Settings I unchecked the box that says "download and install program update if available", then I selected Update on my laptop and it only downloaded the database updates and not the software. I unchecked this box on my desktop as well.

Needless to say, I will avoid updating the software to 1.60 for as long as possible.

#46 Guest_Seagull_*

Guest_Seagull_*
  • Guests

Posted 28 December 2011 - 02:04 PM

Installed the latest version yesterday on 3 different computers in my house and Malwarebytes' is up and running strong with no problems on all 3 computers. Excellent job Malwarebytes' Team. :)

#47 eddyg

eddyg

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts

Posted 28 December 2011 - 02:04 PM

I have 1.51 Pro version on my Windows XP computer. I did the update and installation to 1.60 and now the program won't run. Clicking on the icon gives me the "Windows has encountered a problem" error, followed by "MBAMService has terminated unexpectedly -- see event log for details".

I did a System Restore to yesterday and the program still won't run. This time the error says "Run-time error 5; invalid procedure call or argument".

Help.


I had the same problem as Rox829 and Moeff, 1.51 ran perfectly under XP SP3 but after the updater installed 1.60.1600 the app crashed every time and showed a Windows error. Tried downloading the full app and installing over the updated version with no luck, then tried uninstalling and re-installing with the same result. Finally reverted my disk with Go-Back (once THE best a**-saving software for obsessive tinkerers, too bad Norton didn't upgrade it for Win 7) and am back with 1.51. Unless someone knows a fix I think I guess I'll just have wait for the next upgrade and hope for the best. (BTW 1.60 running fine on my Win 7 machine).

#48 eddyg

eddyg

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts

Posted 28 December 2011 - 02:11 PM

I am running Windows XP Professional version 2002 SP3 and ever since 1.60 downloaded this morning I get Application error and it closes down.

Event Type: Error
Event Source: Application Error
Event Category: (100)
Event ID: 1000
Date: 28/12/2011
Time: 13:20:28
User: N/A
Computer:
Description:
Faulting application mbamservice.exe, version 1.60.0.25, faulting module mbamcore.dll, version 1.60.0.52, fault address 0x00060ae0.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft....ink/events.asp.
Data:
0000: 41 70 70 6c 69 63 61 74 Applicat
0008: 69 6f 6e 20 46 61 69 6c ion Fail
0010: 75 72 65 20 20 6d 62 61 ure mba
0018: 6d 73 65 72 76 69 63 65 mservice
0020: 2e 65 78 65 20 31 2e 36 .exe 1.6
0028: 30 2e 30 2e 32 35 20 69 0.0.25 i
0030: 6e 20 6d 62 61 6d 63 6f n mbamco
0038: 72 65 2e 64 6c 6c 20 31 re.dll 1
0040: 2e 36 30 2e 30 2e 35 32 .60.0.52
0048: 20 61 74 20 6f 66 66 73 at offs
0050: 65 74 20 30 30 30 36 30 et 00060
0058: 61 65 30 ae0



Me too...1.51 ran perfectly under XP SP3 but after the updater installed 1.60.1600 the app crashed every time and showed a Windows error. Tried downloading the full app and installing over the updated version with no luck, then tried uninstalling and re-installing with the same result. Finally reverted my disk with Go-Back (once THE best a**-saving software for obsessive tinkerers, too bad Norton didn't upgrade it for Win 7) and am back with 1.51. Unless someone knows a fix I think I guess I'll just have wait for the next upgrade and hope for the best. (BTW 1.60 running fine on my Win 7 machine).

#49 Fatdcuk

Fatdcuk

    Malware BBQ'er

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,550 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:127.0.0.1

Posted 28 December 2011 - 02:15 PM

then tried uninstalling and re-installing with the same result.


Just for sake of clarity/troubleshooting.

Did you use the MBAM clean.exe tool and did you restart the computer after uninstalling had finished before attempting to reinstall again ?

The reason being is the MBAM cleanup tool is fixing a high percentage of corrupted installs on XP and some other incomplete uninstalls/installs can be attributed to a computer not being restarted when it needs to be.
Ade Gill
Research Engineer

Posted Image

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

#50 Tigzy

Tigzy

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPip
  • 190 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nantes (france)

Posted 28 December 2011 - 04:51 PM

Hello :)

Good news!

Malwarebytes Chameleon technology:
Gets Malwarebytes Anti-Malware running even when blocked by infection.


Not sure to understand, how is this possible?
If the process is killed, and the driver has not been loaded, how MBAM could re-init itself without parent process recalling it?
Julien Ascoet
Software Engineer

Posted Image

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

#51 SatJohn

SatJohn

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 28 December 2011 - 05:42 PM

1.60 crashes on my computer too.

#52 ShyWriter

ShyWriter

    The pencil is mightier than the bite..

  • Software Updaters
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,504 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 28 December 2011 - 07:09 PM

Version .1800 works just fine for me on old Vista SP2..

Steve...

#53 Maurice Naggar

Maurice Naggar

    Staff

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,550 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Security, Windows, Windows Update, malware prevention

Posted 28 December 2011 - 07:24 PM

@Satjohn

Please see Ron's post here --> http://forums.malwar...ndpost&p=510551
Maurice Naggar
Product Support

staff.png

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

I close my threads if there is 5 days without a response.

#54 AdvancedSetup

AdvancedSetup

    Staff

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 41,163 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:US

Posted 28 December 2011 - 07:34 PM

Okay, in reviewing now about 4 different threads of topics on this issue here are the observations.

  • With over 50 million downloads {edit - server admin tells me it was over 85 million this year alone} of our program this year and well over 1 million downloads of this update so far the amount of reported issues is very low.
  • Most cases where an issue is not resolved is because the user has not run the mbam-clean utility as requested and rebooted, then installed the new version of the program.
  • There was an issue with Avast but Avast has now corrected the issue on their end so update Avast if you're using Avast and still having an issue.
  • There are a few users with Zone Alarm that are having an issue as well. Currently there is no available fix. If you wish to run ZoneAlarm you will not be able to use our Protection Module until a fix for ZoneAlarm is found. We are currently still investigating it. It seems that Privacy Firewall may also be exhibiting this issue and needs a fix or workaround as well
  • Some computers are actually infected and the infection has probably prevented the update. In which case you need to seek help in the forum below to seek help with cleaning your computer.

If you're having an issue with the update and you're not running ZoneAlarm or Privacy Firewall then you must run the MBAM-CLEAN utility and reboot your computer. Make sure you tell or allow your Anti-Virus it's okay to run mbam-clean.exe


#1 Please do the following:

  • Download and run mbam-clean.exe from here
  • It will ask to restart your computer, please allow it to do so very important
  • After the computer restarts, temporarily disable your Anti-Virus and install the latest version of Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware from here
  • Note: You will need to reactivate the program using the license you were sent via email if using the Pro version
  • Launch the program and set the Protection and Registration. Then go to the UPDATE tab if not done during installation and check for updates.
    Restart the computer again and verify that MBAM is in the task tray if using the Pro version. Now setup any file exclusions as may be required in your Anti-Virus/Internet-Security/Firewall applications and restart your Anti-Virus/Internet-Security applications. You may use the guides posted in the FAQ's here or ask and we'll explain how to do it.


IF you are not running Zone Alarm or Privacy Firewall and the above clean procedure did not help you then you may well be infected. You can start by posting a set of DDS scan logs and we might be able to determine if you need further assistance in the HJT forum.

Download DDS and save it to your desktop
http://download.bleepingcomputer.com/sUBs/dds.scr

Disable any script blocker if your Anti-Virus/Anti-Malware has it.
Once downloaded you can disconnect from the Internet and disable your Ant-Virus temporarily if needed.
Then double click dds.scr to run the tool.
When done, the DDS.txt will open.
Click Yes at the next prompt for Optional Scan.

  • When done, DDS will open two (2) logs:
  • DDS.txt
  • Attach.txt
  • Save both reports to your desktop
  • Please include the following logs in your next reply: DDS.txt and Attach.txt






If you think you are infected, here are the steps needed to get your computer cleaned....
Please read the following so that you can begin the cleaning process:

Don't use any temporary file cleaners unless requested - this can cause data loss and make recovery difficult

You have 3 Options that you can choose from as listed below:

  • Option 1 —— Free Expert advice in the Malware Removal Forum
  • Option 2 —— Paying customer -- Contact Support via email
  • Option 3 —— Premium, Fee-Based Support
OPTION 1

As we don't deal with malware removal in the General Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware Forum, you need to start a topic in the
Malware Removal forum so a qualified helper can help you fix any malware related problems/infections you may have.

  • Please read and follow the directions here, skipping any steps you are unable to complete.
  • After posting your new post, make sure under options, you select Track this topic and choose Immediate Email Notification,
    so that you're alerted when someone has replied to your post.


NOTE: Please do not post back to (bump) your topic within the first 48 hours.
Replying to your own posts changes the post count and helpers are looking for topics with zero replies.
If you reply to your own post helpers may think that you're already being helped and thus overlook your post.
  • If there is no reply from any experts after 48 hours, you can reply to the topic, asking for help again.
    Or
  • You may send a Private Message to a Moderator asking for assistance.

OPTION 2

Alternatively, as a paying customer, you can contact the help desk at support@malwarebytes.org or here.


OPTION 3

If you would like to use our Malwarebytes Premium Services, Comprehensive solutions to all your computer support needs—from installation and set-up to troubleshooting and tune-ups go to our Malwarebytes Premium Services support site.


Please be patient, someone will assist you as soon as possible.


PS: Please use the "Add Reply" Posted Image button not the Reply button when you start replying.

Ron Lewis
Forum Community Manager

staff.png

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook


#55 55degrees

55degrees

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 29 December 2011 - 01:11 PM

MBM 1.60 Pro is exellent! Thanks for this great program! ;)

#56 Madeline

Madeline

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Wales, UK

Posted 29 December 2011 - 04:51 PM

I'd like to say many thanks for your excellent program! I recently updated to v1.60.0.1800 and it's working fine for me on my XP (Home) SP3 PC.

Madeline :)
Windows XP Home SP3.
If at first you don't succeed, failure may be your style. - Quentin Crisp

#57 catscomputer

catscomputer

    Elite Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 526 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:New Zealand

Posted 29 December 2011 - 10:19 PM

1.60 running beautifully here. Thanks for your hard work!

Win 7 64bit + SP 1
Avast! 9 Free; MBAM PRO; Hitman Pro; Spywareblaster; CCleaner; Sandboxie Free
Main browser: FF (latest stable version) with Adblock+; NoScript; Keyscrambler; Better Privacy; WOT; Ghostery
Spare browsers: Chrome (latest verson) with Adblock+; ScriptSafe; WOT; Ghostery / IE11 with Avast! Online Security


#58 TomSASD

TomSASD

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 30 December 2011 - 02:27 AM

Amazing, loving it so far. 1.60 caused me to sign up. I'll be active in this community. Thanks

#59 itsolsup

itsolsup

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 30 December 2011 - 06:48 AM

I have just installed the 1.60 update. I have been running the previous version for many years and experienced excellent performance and protection.

OS is Windows Vista Business
PC is a HP Compaq 6710b Notebook

Since the install everytime I restart my pc, or start from cold, the pc switches off immediately after the BIOS screen and before Windows loading.

I have started in Safe Mode and disabled the Malwarebytes service and startup program, and the pc boots ok.

I can start the pc with the software enabled, however involves disabling hardware DEP in the BIOS, and attempting power on start at least 4-5 times.

This can be reduced if taking the 'Start Windows Normally' option when the Windows Error Recovery screen appears, otherwise the default 'Windows Repair' option results in immediate shutdown (as before).

I have attempted to set the programs mbamgui.exe and mbamservice.exe as exceptions in Windows DEP, however receive a message indicating these must be run with DEP enabled.

I would like to continue using Malwarebytes as its exceptional scanning software, however with the multiple restarting its really not useable at present.

As the release is very new I'm sure a fix will be coming soon, however in the meantime I may need to revert back to the previous version.

Is the previous version still available for download?

Regards, Craig

#60 HiSpeed

HiSpeed

    Regular Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPip
  • 73 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris, France
  • Interests:Software Engineering

Posted 30 December 2011 - 08:47 AM

There are a few users with Zone Alarm that are having an issue as well. Currently there is no available fix.

Yeah... just one or two... :blink:

You're not serious Sir !

http://forums.malwar...howtopic=103148




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users