Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

need some help with malwarebytes


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
53 replies to this topic

#41 aswath

aswath

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lancaster UK
  • Interests:Gaming , system security, tweaking PC for max performance , ofcourse learning them

Posted 31 January 2012 - 12:51 PM

Either way i tried what u told me but still malwarebytes did not update .. so i checked the box again and im able to access forums

#42 Maurice Naggar

Maurice Naggar

    Staff

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,550 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Security, Windows, Windows Update, malware prevention

Posted 31 January 2012 - 12:52 PM

So this sys is set for a university-resident setting?

Well, stay tuned. Cause frankly I am a bit stumped for now. Unless you want to write down those Lan settings, un-tick the line as I suggested, and just give a test for an update run on MBAM. You can revert the change afterward.
Maurice Naggar
Product Support

staff.png

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

I close my threads if there is 5 days without a response.

#43 aswath

aswath

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lancaster UK
  • Interests:Gaming , system security, tweaking PC for max performance , ofcourse learning them

Posted 31 January 2012 - 01:18 PM

well i figured as much.... ok lemme give another try i did untick it but lemme see if i can remove the lines and chk once if it works

#44 aswath

aswath

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lancaster UK
  • Interests:Gaming , system security, tweaking PC for max performance , ofcourse learning them

Posted 31 January 2012 - 01:26 PM

first off im thankful that you are helping me to your fullest extent..

coming to my problem well i tried what u suggested again but this was the result /... im mailed my university IT to help me out with this cause i suspect this might have something to do with the connection .. clearly we did lots of scanning with every scanner possible and removed every threat possible .... so ill try asking them and let u know if it works or not

Attached Files



#45 aswath

aswath

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lancaster UK
  • Interests:Gaming , system security, tweaking PC for max performance , ofcourse learning them

Posted 31 January 2012 - 01:40 PM

So this sys is set for a university-resident setting?

Well, stay tuned. Cause frankly I am a bit stumped for now. Unless you want to write down those Lan settings, un-tick the line as I suggested, and just give a test for an update run on MBAM. You can revert the change afterward.


yeah its a for a university Resident setting

#46 Maurice Naggar

Maurice Naggar

    Staff

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,550 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Security, Windows, Windows Update, malware prevention

Posted 01 February 2012 - 08:16 AM

Let's have you try this next. Logoff and shutdown your pc. If you have a hardware router, unplug the connection to your pc, and power off (unplug) the router. Next, unplug the modem (assuming you have a broadband modem). Wait for about a minute. Plug back the modem to wall power. Wait for about a minute or until Ready status is shown on modem.
Next, plug back the router to wall power. Startup your pc. Wait until you have a populated (normal) desktop.

Now, start MBAM scanner. Use Update tab to check for updates.
Let me know how it goes.
Maurice Naggar
Product Support

staff.png

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

I close my threads if there is 5 days without a response.

#47 aswath

aswath

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lancaster UK
  • Interests:Gaming , system security, tweaking PC for max performance , ofcourse learning them

Posted 01 February 2012 - 01:23 PM

it seems like im some kind of bearer of bad news for you.. here in the forum -_-............... anyway no luck still the same not updating .....im gonna give my pc to the univ IT guyz tomorrow .they said they'll check on it. if they fix it then it has something to do with the internet connection ... either way ill let u know once i get it back .... cheers

#48 Maurice Naggar

Maurice Naggar

    Staff

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,550 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Security, Windows, Windows Update, malware prevention

Posted 01 February 2012 - 04:55 PM

I did get your last log. Have the univ network folks check & reset your network settings. Cheers.
Maurice Naggar
Product Support

staff.png

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

I close my threads if there is 5 days without a response.

#49 Maurice Naggar

Maurice Naggar

    Staff

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,550 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Security, Windows, Windows Update, malware prevention

Posted 02 February 2012 - 02:01 PM

Has the university-tech dept helped you to resolve the connectivity issue?
The consencus here is that the university-network is not allowing the pc to reach the update server. Quite evident from the traceroute log.
Maurice Naggar
Product Support

staff.png

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

I close my threads if there is 5 days without a response.

#50 aswath

aswath

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lancaster UK
  • Interests:Gaming , system security, tweaking PC for max performance , ofcourse learning them

Posted 02 February 2012 - 02:37 PM

Has the university-tech dept helped you to resolve the connectivity issue?
The consencus here is that the university-network is not allowing the pc to reach the update server. Quite evident from the traceroute log.


not yet mate they havent given me my laptop for the timebeing they gave me one of the univ's laptop's they got plenty of problems like this i suppose .. anyway they said i can collect it tomorrow evening

#51 aswath

aswath

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lancaster UK
  • Interests:Gaming , system security, tweaking PC for max performance , ofcourse learning them

Posted 03 February 2012 - 09:29 AM

hey man

i got my laptop the IT guyz were pretty dumbfolded themselves but then they gave me a proxy address to be added specifically( a different connection) to MBAM and now it updates

#52 Maurice Naggar

Maurice Naggar

    Staff

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,550 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Security, Windows, Windows Update, malware prevention

Posted 03 February 2012 - 10:00 AM

OK, good. I think we can warp this up, now.
This utility will clean up the tools we used. Please run it.
  • Download OTC to your desktop and run it
  • Click Yes to beginning the Cleanup process and remove these components, including this application.
  • You will be asked to reboot the machine to finish the Cleanup process. Choose Yes.

Maurice Naggar
Product Support

staff.png

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

I close my threads if there is 5 days without a response.

#53 aswath

aswath

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lancaster UK
  • Interests:Gaming , system security, tweaking PC for max performance , ofcourse learning them

Posted 03 February 2012 - 11:02 AM

OK, good. I think we can warp this up, now.
This utility will clean up the tools we used. Please run it.

  • Download OTC to your desktop and run it
  • Click Yes to beginning the Cleanup process and remove these components, including this application.
  • You will be asked to reboot the machine to finish the Cleanup process. Choose Yes.



woot ... done and rebooted Mbam FTW...... thank you so much mate ^^

#54 Maurice Naggar

Maurice Naggar

    Staff

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,550 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Security, Windows, Windows Update, malware prevention

Posted 03 February 2012 - 11:40 AM

Glad we could help. :)

If you need this topic reopened, please send a Private Message to any one of the moderating team members. Please include a link to this thread with your request. This applies only to the originator of this thread.

Other members who need assistance please start your own topic in a new thread. Thanks!
Maurice Naggar
Product Support

staff.png

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

I close my threads if there is 5 days without a response.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users