Jump to content


Photo

Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 1.60.1 Beta Test


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
111 replies to this topic

#101 ShyWriter

ShyWriter

    The pencil is mightier than the bite..

  • Software Updaters
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,503 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 27 January 2012 - 01:01 PM

Posted Image



#102 HiSpeed

HiSpeed

    Regular Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPip
  • 73 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris, France
  • Interests:Software Engineering

Posted 27 January 2012 - 01:40 PM

ShyWriter, your post has no sense here, you're wasting your time as I say in my signature...

#103 DarkSnakeKobra

DarkSnakeKobra

    May the penguin be with you!

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,262 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:~
  • Interests:Scripting, GNU/Linux, photography

Posted 27 January 2012 - 02:36 PM

[quote name='HiSpeed' timestamp='1327686488' post='521024']
No, only one hole in one layer is not sufficient because the others layers are shields...
[/quote]

It does not matter if you are protected. No product has 100% detection of malware and only takes one missed threat to screw up your computer.

I'm not a staff member just another Malwarebytes' user.

Advice: Hug your dog, cat etc everyday! :)


#104 HiSpeed

HiSpeed

    Regular Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPip
  • 73 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris, France
  • Interests:Software Engineering

Posted 27 January 2012 - 03:27 PM

No product has 100% detection of malware...

In this way, since I use MBAM I don't download any Windows Defender update, am I right or wrong?

#105 DarkSnakeKobra

DarkSnakeKobra

    May the penguin be with you!

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,262 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:~
  • Interests:Scripting, GNU/Linux, photography

Posted 27 January 2012 - 04:33 PM

In this way, since I use MBAM I don't download any Windows Defender update, am I right or wrong?



Windows Defender has nothing to do with this. It is an antimalware product offered to XP users and built into WIndows Vista/7. MBAM nor Windows Defender or any other security software can ever be used as a replacement for Windows Updates. Updating your Operating System always comes first then your security software. The OS is the prime target for hackers and malware writers. Keeping it up to date is critical to a secure computer.

I'm not a staff member just another Malwarebytes' user.

Advice: Hug your dog, cat etc everyday! :)


#106 jadinolf

jadinolf

    Regular Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ojai, CA
  • Interests:Anything computer or Basset Hounds

Posted 27 January 2012 - 05:52 PM

I've got the beta on two computers now.

No complaints.

Are we getting close to "GO" day? :)
printed on 100% recycled bytes

#107 HiSpeed

HiSpeed

    Regular Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPip
  • 73 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris, France
  • Interests:Software Engineering

Posted 28 January 2012 - 03:46 AM

Windows Defender has nothing to do with this.

Sorry, but you misunderstood my post.

You mean: "No product has 100% detection of malware"
I mean: "It's crazy to install MBAM + Defender + SpyBot + Ad-Aware + etc."

Consequently, you're obliged to do a choice to minimize the risks and maximize the usages of your PC...
This is the reason why I use XP SP2...

#108 Maurice Naggar

Maurice Naggar

    Staff

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,550 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Security, Windows, Windows Update, malware prevention

Posted 28 January 2012 - 09:17 AM

Let's stop going off on tangents & issues that are not directly related to MBAM vers 1.60.1.1000
Let's keep this topic reserved for that purpose.
I regret that apparently I was the one that first initiated "the current side issue". It's been discussed enough.
Let's return the focus back to the purpose of this topic: MBAM vers 1.60.1.1000
Maurice Naggar
Product Support

staff.png

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

I close my threads if there is 5 days without a response.

#109 HiSpeed

HiSpeed

    Regular Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPip
  • 73 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris, France
  • Interests:Software Engineering

Posted 28 January 2012 - 10:18 AM

OK Maurice, I agree and regret also you're responsible... :lol:

I have a question with the beta:

A clean install with v1.60.0.1800 created un second entry "MBAM (Trial)" into the registry HKLM.
The new beta didn't delete it and I have this key with only one PC.
After delete, it' is recreated automatically,
Why?

#110 dskirk

dskirk

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 28 January 2012 - 12:08 PM

This is SUPER! I had earlier reported a conflict with Norton360 where MBam was continually polling it, not crashing but causing thousands of unnecessary interactions, but the beta fixed the problem. I had earlier reverted to Mbam 1.5 and I'm glad to see how promptly the issue was resolved. THANKS!
david

#111 exile360

exile360

    exile

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16,015 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 28 January 2012 - 07:11 PM

This is SUPER! I had earlier reported a conflict with Norton360 where MBam was continually polling it, not crashing but causing thousands of unnecessary interactions, but the beta fixed the problem. I had earlier reverted to Mbam 1.5 and I'm glad to see how promptly the issue was resolved. THANKS!
david

Excellent, thanks for reporting :). I suspected it was possible that 1.60.1 might fix this, as 1.60.0 did have an issue with the Ignore List that we fixed in the new beta. I'm glad to see that it resolved that issue.
Samuel E Lindsey
Product Manager

Posted Image

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

#112 chipo

chipo

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

Posted 29 January 2012 - 04:24 AM

Hi, I repeat what I wrote a few days ago, because I haven't had any solution:

I think Mbam is incompatible with kaspersky Internet Security 2012. I installed the beta version, following the usual instructions (uninstall previos version, run mbam-clean, reboot and install the new version). It works a bit better, but sometimes my system freezes again, when kaspersky starts automatic updates (the same system freezings with version 1.60). I noticed that the version 1.50.1 has the same problem with KIS since you have changed the way of updates. I have malwarebytes files and folders in kaspersky's trusted list.

Windows XP SP3 (spanish).
Kaspersky Internet Security 2012 (12.0.0.374 abcdefg)
Blueridge Appguard 3.2.0.0
Other programs running realtime: eboostr 3.0.1, Cacheman 7.01





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users