Jump to content


Photo

A problem with closing a Microsoft Word document 2003 when trying paste


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 cooperator

cooperator

    Advanced Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 222 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:people's Democratic Republic of Yemen

Posted 21 March 2012 - 01:20 PM

Hi everyone,
I hope all our colleagues in the best of health.


I have a problem with a Microsoft Word Office 2003. The problem is as follows: when I have tried copying any text from the internet and pasting it in a Microsoft Word Office document, it is been closed and shown me this error message which in the picture.
Incidentally, my system is Windows Vista


Posted Image




Posted Image
The real leader is one who helps other people
Posted Image

#2 Firefox

Firefox

    Forum Deity

  • Trusted Advisors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,049 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 21 March 2012 - 01:37 PM

Hello just a thought on this, you have office 2003, do you have the lastest service packs for office installed?

post-2065-0-92797800-1392234217.jpg


Dell Precision T7500, Win7 Ultimate 64bit fully updated, McAfee Corp Edition v8.8,
Watchguard Firewall, Intel Xeon E5606CPU, Dual Quad Core Processors, 16GB Ram,
E5606 @ 2.13GHz, Nvidia Quadro NVS420, Raid-1 Dual 1TB Sata 10000 rpm Hard Drives
Dual DVD Burners, IE10, Opera, MBAM, MBSB, MBAE


#3 cooperator

cooperator

    Advanced Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 222 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:people's Democratic Republic of Yemen

Posted 21 March 2012 - 02:17 PM

Hello just a thought on this, you have office 2003, do you have the lastest service packs for office installed?


No,I am not sure, but I think that I haven't the latest service packes.
Is it "service packs" integrated with Micorosoft 2003? Or should I install it alone? How can I get it?
The real leader is one who helps other people
Posted Image

#4 AdvancedSetup

AdvancedSetup

    Staff

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 41,284 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:US

Posted 21 March 2012 - 03:00 PM

The latest service pack for Office 2003 was Service Pack 3

Download Office 2003 Service Pack 3 (SP3)

Once you've installed that you should really check and make sure you have other Windows updates applied to your computer.


Ron Lewis
Forum Community Manager

staff.png

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook


#5 cooperator

cooperator

    Advanced Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 222 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:people's Democratic Republic of Yemen

Posted 21 March 2012 - 03:33 PM

The latest service pack for Office 2003 was Service Pack 3

Download Office 2003 Service Pack 3 (SP3)

Once you've installed that you should really check and make sure you have other Windows updates applied to your computer.


1- You didn't answer me is the service pack for Office 2003 integrated with Office 2003?

2- How can I be quite sure if I have the latest service pack for Office 2003?
The real leader is one who helps other people
Posted Image

#6 Firefox

Firefox

    Forum Deity

  • Trusted Advisors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,049 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 21 March 2012 - 03:46 PM

Back in the day when they sold office, and depending on when you bought your version of office it was not integrated.

To check to see if you have any service packs installed, open up Word, then go to Help and About Microsoft Word and see it it tells you what version it has installed if any.

post-2065-0-92797800-1392234217.jpg


Dell Precision T7500, Win7 Ultimate 64bit fully updated, McAfee Corp Edition v8.8,
Watchguard Firewall, Intel Xeon E5606CPU, Dual Quad Core Processors, 16GB Ram,
E5606 @ 2.13GHz, Nvidia Quadro NVS420, Raid-1 Dual 1TB Sata 10000 rpm Hard Drives
Dual DVD Burners, IE10, Opera, MBAM, MBSB, MBAE


#7 cooperator

cooperator

    Advanced Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 222 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:people's Democratic Republic of Yemen

Posted 21 March 2012 - 04:38 PM

Back in the day when they sold office, and depending on when you bought your version of office it was not integrated.

To check to see if you have any service packs installed, open up Word, then go to Help and About Microsoft Word and see it it tells you what version it has installed if any.

If I check what you mentioned to, what should I see to judge that I have the service packs ? Becuase you only mentioned how can I do? But you didn't mention what the mark of being the service packs installed?


Here is my last scan on a windows 8 Virtual machine:

alwarebytes Anti-Malware (Trial) 1.60.1.1000
www.malwarebytes.org

Database version: v2012.03.21.07

Windows 8 x64 NTFS
Internet Explorer 9.10.8250.0
Firefox :: Dell-Virtual-8 [administrator]

Protection: Enabled

3/21/2012 3:42:35 PM
mbam-log-2012-03-21 (15-42-35).txt

Scan type: Quick scan
Scan options enabled: Memory | Startup | Registry | File System | Heuristics/Extra | Heuristics/Shuriken | PUP | PUM
Scan options disabled: P2P
Objects scanned: 184881
Time elapsed: 3 minute(s), 8 second(s)

Memory Processes Detected: 0
(No malicious items detected)

Memory Modules Detected: 0
(No malicious items detected)

Registry Keys Detected: 0
(No malicious items detected)

Registry Values Detected: 0
(No malicious items detected)

Registry Data Items Detected: 0
(No malicious items detected)

Folders Detected: 0
(No malicious items detected)

Files Detected: 0
(No malicious items detected)

(end)


Secondly: I am really completely don't understand what this means. Could you possibly let me know, please?

Finally: what is the service pack for Microsoft 2003?
The real leader is one who helps other people
Posted Image

#8 cooperator

cooperator

    Advanced Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 222 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:people's Democratic Republic of Yemen

Posted 21 March 2012 - 05:23 PM

Please reply my last inquire:
The real leader is one who helps other people
Posted Image

#9 AdvancedSetup

AdvancedSetup

    Staff

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 41,284 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:US

Posted 21 March 2012 - 06:05 PM

It depends on what OS you have.

For Windows XP go here: http://www.update.microsoft.com/

For Vista or Windows 7 try the following

http://windows.micro...u-about-updates

Let Microsoft scan your system and they will tell you what updates you need.

Ron Lewis
Forum Community Manager

staff.png

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook


#10 cooperator

cooperator

    Advanced Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 222 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:people's Democratic Republic of Yemen

Posted 21 March 2012 - 06:16 PM

It depends on what OS you have.

For Windows XP go here: http://www.update.microsoft.com/

For Vista or Windows 7 try the following

http://windows.micro...u-about-updates


I have Vista. What is the relation between Window and Service pack for Micorosoft 2003? I need only cheking whether or not my Microsoft Office 2003 has the lastest service packs and I don't want the the lastest service packs for Windows :mellow:

Let Microsoft scan your system and they will tell you what updates you need.


How can I let Microsoft tells me what updates I need?
The real leader is one who helps other people
Posted Image

#11 Jacktivity

Jacktivity

    Staff

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 361 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 21 March 2012 - 07:07 PM

This article shows how to determine the installed version and service pack level in MS Office 2003 (not Windows itself)

How to check the version of Office 2003 products

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/821549

This article gives some troubleshooting tips for MS Word

Troubleshoot problems that occur when you start or use Word 2010, 2007, or 2003

http://support.micro....com/kb/921541/
Jack Lewis
Product Support

Posted Image

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

#12 cooperator

cooperator

    Advanced Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 222 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:people's Democratic Republic of Yemen

Posted 21 March 2012 - 07:30 PM

This article shows how to determine the installed version and service pack level in MS Office 2003 (not Windows itself)

How to check the version of Office 2003 products

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/821549

This article gives some troubleshooting tips for MS Word

Troubleshoot problems that occur when you start or use Word 2010, 2007, or 2003

http://support.micro....com/kb/921541/

I have read this article, but I didn't find any thing to tell me whether I have the latest service packs for Microsoft office 2003 or not. What is the the Microsoft office and the service packs for it? Annd is service packs integrated with Microsoft office 2003 or not ?
The real leader is one who helps other people
Posted Image

#13 AdvancedSetup

AdvancedSetup

    Staff

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 41,284 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:US

Posted 22 March 2012 - 01:03 AM

The provided article shows you how to tell what version and service pack you have.
You need to read the articles provided or no one will be able to assist you.

You can also search using Google or Bing or Yahoo

copy paste in word crashing = About 5,140,000 results on Google search.

Ron Lewis
Forum Community Manager

staff.png

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook


#14 Firefox

Firefox

    Forum Deity

  • Trusted Advisors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,049 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 22 March 2012 - 08:16 AM

I have read this article, but I didn't find any thing to tell me whether I have the latest service packs for Microsoft office 2003 or not. What is the the Microsoft office and the service packs for it? Annd is service packs integrated with Microsoft office 2003 or not ?


The service pack is NOT integrated with Microsoft Office 2003. If you want to know if you have any service packs, open Word then click on HELP and then on About Microsoft Word. That opens a window and it will tell you on the top line something like this: Microsoft Office Word 2003 (11.8328.8341) SP3 (this is mine cause I have SP3 installed)


If you do not show SP3 there then you need to install SP3. You can download it from Microsoft here: http://www.microsoft...tails.aspx?id=8

See this sample:

Attached Images

  • word2003.JPG

post-2065-0-92797800-1392234217.jpg


Dell Precision T7500, Win7 Ultimate 64bit fully updated, McAfee Corp Edition v8.8,
Watchguard Firewall, Intel Xeon E5606CPU, Dual Quad Core Processors, 16GB Ram,
E5606 @ 2.13GHz, Nvidia Quadro NVS420, Raid-1 Dual 1TB Sata 10000 rpm Hard Drives
Dual DVD Burners, IE10, Opera, MBAM, MBSB, MBAE


#15 DarkSnakeKobra

DarkSnakeKobra

    May the penguin be with you!

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,262 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:~
  • Interests:Scripting, GNU/Linux, photography

Posted 22 March 2012 - 02:40 PM

I have Vista. What is the relation between Window and Service pack for Micorosoft 2003? I need only cheking whether or not my Microsoft Office 2003 has the lastest service packs and I don't want the the lastest service packs for Windows :mellow:


You also need to have the latest service pack for Windows. Otherwise Microsoft will no longer deliver updates to you if you don't have a supported service pack. Having outdated updates leaves your pc vulnerable to malware and possible software issues that were fixed in a supported service pack such as kernel level code that security software uses. Some helpers will be less likely to help you if you don't take things seriously such as updates.

I'm not a staff member just another Malwarebytes' user.

Advice: Hug your dog, cat etc everyday! :)


#16 Firefox

Firefox

    Forum Deity

  • Trusted Advisors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,049 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 22 March 2012 - 03:32 PM

Just to add, windows updates and service packs are just as important with the workings of Microsoft word. There are shared files that windows and other applications use such as dll files, this is why it is important to also update the windows service packs as well.

post-2065-0-92797800-1392234217.jpg


Dell Precision T7500, Win7 Ultimate 64bit fully updated, McAfee Corp Edition v8.8,
Watchguard Firewall, Intel Xeon E5606CPU, Dual Quad Core Processors, 16GB Ram,
E5606 @ 2.13GHz, Nvidia Quadro NVS420, Raid-1 Dual 1TB Sata 10000 rpm Hard Drives
Dual DVD Burners, IE10, Opera, MBAM, MBSB, MBAE





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users