Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Helped by Forum to Delete Rootkit.0Access.H - now what?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
50 replies to this topic

#21 longbeachlouise

longbeachlouise

    Advanced Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 224 posts

Posted 17 April 2012 - 08:45 AM

My father has two harddrives, the "D" and the "C," to back up by copying the harddrive.

#22 longbeachlouise

longbeachlouise

    Advanced Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 224 posts

Posted 17 April 2012 - 08:46 AM

Okay. I am going to launch it.

#23 longbeachlouise

longbeachlouise

    Advanced Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 224 posts

Posted 17 April 2012 - 08:51 AM

It takes about an hour and 15 minutes. I launched it, and checked, A/C/D drive to do a thorough scan.

The browser is IE 8.

#24 longbeachlouise

longbeachlouise

    Advanced Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 224 posts

Posted 17 April 2012 - 09:22 AM

Oh! It took only 27 minutes! That was fast! Here is a screen grab of the one infection, attached, and the log:

Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 1.61.0.1400
www.malwarebytes.org
Database version: v2012.04.10.08
Windows XP Service Pack 3 x86 NTFS
Internet Explorer 8.0.6001.18702
William Timmons :: BILL_DESKTOP [administrator]
4/17/2012 6:47:13 AM
mbam-log-2012-04-17 (06-47-13).txt
Scan type: Full scan
Scan options enabled: Memory | Startup | Registry | File System | Heuristics/Extra | Heuristics/Shuriken | PUP | PUM
Scan options disabled: P2P
Objects scanned: 286830
Time elapsed: 26 minute(s), 54 second(s)
Memory Processes Detected: 0
(No malicious items detected)
Memory Modules Detected: 0
(No malicious items detected)
Registry Keys Detected: 0
(No malicious items detected)
Registry Values Detected: 0
(No malicious items detected)
Registry Data Items Detected: 0
(No malicious items detected)
Folders Detected: 0
(No malicious items detected)
Files Detected: 1
C:\TDSSKiller_Quarantine\13.04.2012_15.10.05\rtkt0000\zafs0000\tsk0002.dta (Rootkit.0Access) -> Quarantined and deleted successfully.
(end)

Attached Files



#25 Elise

Elise

    Forum Deity

  • Experts
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,721 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Romania

Posted 17 April 2012 - 09:54 AM

Thats nothing to worry about! :)
What about the browser scroll problem (see my question in last post)?

ESET ONLINE SCANNER
----------------------------
I'd like us to scan your machine with ESET OnlineScan
  • Hold down Control and click on this link to open ESET OnlineScan in a new window.
  • Click the Posted Image button.
  • For alternate browsers only: (Microsoft Internet Explorer users can skip these steps)
    • Click on esetsmartinstaller_enu.exe to download the ESET Smart Installer. Save it to your desktop.
    • Double click on the Posted Image
      icon on your desktop.
  • Check "YES, I accept the Terms of Use."
  • Click the Start button.
  • Accept any security warnings from your browser.
  • Under scan settings, check "Scan Archives" and "Remove found threats"
  • Click Advanced settings and select the following:
    • Scan potentially unwanted applications
    • Scan for potentially unsafe applications
    • Enable Anti-Stealth technology
  • ESET will then download updates for itself, install itself, and begin scanning your computer. Please be patient as this can take some time.
  • When the scan completes, click List Threats
  • Click Export, and save the file to your desktop using a unique name, such as ESETScan. Include the contents of this report in your next reply.
  • Click the Back button.
  • Click the Finish button.

regards, Elise

If I am helping you and I haven't replied within 24 hours, please feel free to send me a PM.

Posted Image


#26 longbeachlouise

longbeachlouise

    Advanced Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 224 posts

Posted 17 April 2012 - 11:39 AM

Hi, The refresh - I think that is what it is - is still rippling on the browser.

Here is the ESET report:

C:\Qoobox\Quarantine\C\WINDOWS\system32\Drivers\netbt.sys.vir a variant of Win32/Sirefef.DA trojan cleaned by deleting - quarantined
C:\TDSSKiller_Quarantine\13.04.2012_15.10.05\rtkt0000\svc0000\tsk0000.dta Win32/Sirefef.DA trojan cleaned by deleting - quarantined
C:\TDSSKiller_Quarantine\13.04.2012_15.10.05\rtkt0000\zafs0000\tsk0008.dta Win32/Sirefef.ES trojan cleaned by deleting - quarantined
C:\TDSSKiller_Quarantine\13.04.2012_15.10.05\rtkt0000\zafs0000\tsk0010.dta a variant of Win32/Sirefef.EU trojan cleaned by deleting - quarantined


There was a checkbox which said, "Delete Quarantine," but you didn't say to check it, so I didn't.

Attached Files



#27 Elise

Elise

    Forum Deity

  • Experts
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,721 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Romania

Posted 17 April 2012 - 02:37 PM

Which browser is having the scroll problem?

All detected items were already quarantined. :)
regards, Elise

If I am helping you and I haven't replied within 24 hours, please feel free to send me a PM.

Posted Image


#28 longbeachlouise

longbeachlouise

    Advanced Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 224 posts

Posted 17 April 2012 - 02:50 PM

There is that, the ripple effect, and the "Standby" button on shutdown is not clickable. View attached.

Please, would you instruct me what and how to delete these, if you think I no longer need to run them?

ComboFix
OTL
RK_Quarantine (folder)
TDSSKiller

Thanx! :)

Attached Files



#29 Elise

Elise

    Forum Deity

  • Experts
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,721 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Romania

Posted 17 April 2012 - 03:14 PM

We'll leave combofix and TDSSkiller quarantine where they are until we confirm you are all cleaned up. :)

Please follow the steps here to reset internet explorer and let me know if that helps: http://windows.micro...orer-8-settings

Right click on your desktop and click "Properties," then click on the "Screen Saver" tab. Now click the "Power" button near the bottom and when the new window opens, make sure that the drop-down boxes next to "System Standby" does not say "Never." If it does, please change it.
regards, Elise

If I am helping you and I haven't replied within 24 hours, please feel free to send me a PM.

Posted Image


#30 longbeachlouise

longbeachlouise

    Advanced Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 224 posts

Posted 17 April 2012 - 03:38 PM

Hi, Okay, I followed the steps for the Fixit Wizard, then changed System Standby to 3 minutes, but I don't know what that is.

#31 Elise

Elise

    Forum Deity

  • Experts
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,721 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Romania

Posted 17 April 2012 - 03:57 PM

Please leave your computer alone for three or more minutes and see if it actually enters stand-by.
regards, Elise

If I am helping you and I haven't replied within 24 hours, please feel free to send me a PM.

Posted Image


#32 longbeachlouise

longbeachlouise

    Advanced Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 224 posts

Posted 17 April 2012 - 04:17 PM

What does that mean? I have been leaving it alone. This is my father's computer, where I perform the scans, and upload the screenshots and post the report. Then I leave and go use my computer, in another room. It looks regular.

#33 longbeachlouise

longbeachlouise

    Advanced Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 224 posts

Posted 17 April 2012 - 04:23 PM

Here is the screenshot of what I changed. The "Standby" button on Shutdown is still not clickable.

Should I restart the computer?

Thanx! :D

Attached Files



#34 longbeachlouise

longbeachlouise

    Advanced Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 224 posts

Posted 17 April 2012 - 05:00 PM

All of a sudden, the "ripple" effect is going away! I switched to 800X600 resolution for a few seconds, then switched back to 1024X768 - that seemed to have jostled it!

#35 longbeachlouise

longbeachlouise

    Advanced Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 224 posts

Posted 17 April 2012 - 05:02 PM

No. It didn't. That was wishful thinking.

#36 Elise

Elise

    Forum Deity

  • Experts
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,721 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Romania

Posted 18 April 2012 - 01:24 AM

What does that mean? I have been leaving it alone. This is my father's computer, where I perform the scans, and upload the screenshots and post the report. Then I leave and go use my computer, in another room. It looks regular.

What I mean is, leave the computer untouched for three minutes and let me know if it enters system standby automatically. :)

Can you start Internet explorer without addons and see if that helps? See here how to do that.
regards, Elise

If I am helping you and I haven't replied within 24 hours, please feel free to send me a PM.

Posted Image


#37 longbeachlouise

longbeachlouise

    Advanced Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 224 posts

Posted 18 April 2012 - 10:46 AM

Hi,

What I mean is, leave the computer untouched for three minutes and let me know if it enters system standby automatically. :)

I had left the computer on, and it didn't enter standby. I turned the monitor off, and when I came back and turned it back on, the same image was there.

Thank you for helping me. My father is respecting me because of your help, which is rare. He used his monitor with his laptop, but is waiting until you give the "all-clear" for him to get back on the computer.

Attached Files



#38 longbeachlouise

longbeachlouise

    Advanced Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 224 posts

Posted 18 April 2012 - 10:53 AM

There is still the ripple effect of the browser . . .

When you give the "all-clear," the first thing my father will do is run PCTools Registry Mechanic, then compact the registry. You see the system health is low.

I'm dying to run it. When this computer is operating virus-free, Registry Mechanic does speed it up. But I won't do anything.

Attached Files



#39 Elise

Elise

    Forum Deity

  • Experts
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,721 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Romania

Posted 18 April 2012 - 11:17 AM

Unfortunately this is nothing something I recommend.
I don't personally recommend the use of ANY registry cleaners for several reasons.

Registry cleaners are extremely powerful applications that can damage the registry by using aggressive cleaning routines and cause your computer to become unbootable.

The Windows registry is a central repository (database) for storing configuration data, user settings and machine-dependent settings, and options for the operating system. It contains information and settings for all hardware, software, users, and preferences. Whenever a user makes changes to settings, file associations, system policies, or installed software, the changes are reflected and stored in this repository. The registry is a crucial component because it is where Windows "remembers" all this information, how it works together, how Windows boots the system and what files it uses when it does. The registry is also a vulnerable subsystem, in that relatively small changes done incorrectly can render the system inoperable. For a more detailed explanation, read Understanding The Registry.

Not all registry cleaners are created equal. There are a number of them available but they do not all work entirely the same way. Each vendor uses different criteria as to what constitutes a "bad entry". One cleaner may find entries on your system that will not cause problems when removed, another may not find the same entries, and still another may want to remove entries required for a program to work.

Not all registry cleaners create a backup of the registry before making changes. If the changes prevent the system from booting up, then there is no backup available to restore it in order to regain functionality. A backup of the registry is essential BEFORE making any changes to the registry.

Improperly removing registry entries can hamper malware disinfection and make the removal process more difficult if your computer becomes infected. For example, removing malware related registry entries before the infection is properly identified can contribute to system instability and even make the malware undetectable to removal tools.

The usefulness of cleaning the registry is highly overrated and can be dangerous. In most cases, using a cleaner to remove obsolete, invalid, and erroneous entries does not affect system performance but it can result in "unpredictable results".

Unless you have a particular problem that requires a registry edit to correct it, I would suggest you leave the registry alone. Using registry cleaning tools unnecessarily or incorrectly could lead to disastrous effects on your operating system such as preventing it from ever starting again. For routine use, the benefits to your computer are negligible while the potential risks are great.

ALL CLEAN
--------------
Your machine appears to be clean, please take the time to read below on how to secure the machine and take the necessary steps to keep it clean :)

Please do the following to remove the remaining programs from your PC:
  • Delete the tools used during the disinfection:
  • Click start > run and type combofix /uninstall, press enter. This will remove Combofix from your computer.
  • Rerun OTL and click the Cleanup button. This should remove all tools and logs we used. It is important you do this after uninstalling combofix.
Please read these advices, in order to prevent reinfecting your PC:
  • Install and update the following programs regularly:
    • an outbound firewall. If you are connected to the internet through a router, you are already behind a hardware firewall and as such you do not need an extra software firewall.
      A comprehensive tutorial and a list of possible firewalls can be found here.
    • an AntiVirus Software
      It is imperative that you update your AntiVirus Software on regular basis.If you do not update your AntiVirus Software then it will not be able to catch the latest threats.
    • an Anti-Spyware program
      Malware Byte's Anti Malware is an excellent Anti-Spyware scanner. It's scan times are usually under ten minutes, and has excellent detection and removal rates.
      SUPERAntiSpyware is another good scanner with high detection and removal rates.
      Both programs are free for non commercial home use but provide a resident and do not nag if you purchase the paid versions.
    • Spyware Blaster
      A tutorial for Spywareblaster can be found here. If you wish, the commercial version provides automatic updating.
  • Keep Windows (and your other Microsoft software) up to date!
    I cannot stress how important this is enough. Often holes are found in Internet Explorer or Windows itself that require patching. Sometimes these holes will allow an attacker unrestricted access to your computer.
    Therefore, please, visit the Microsoft Update Website and follow the on screen instructions to setup Microsoft Update. Also follow the instructions to update your system. Please REBOOT and repeat this process until there are no more updates to install!!
  • Keep your other software up to date as well
    Software does not need to be made by Microsoft to be insecure. You can use the Secunia Online Software occasionally to help you check for out of date software on yourmachine.
  • Stay up to date!
    The MOST IMPORTANT part of any security setup is keeping the software up to date. Malware writers release new variants every single day. If your software updates don't keep up, then the malware will always be one step ahead. Not a good thing.
Some more links you might find of interest:
Please reply to this topic if you have read the above information. If your computer is working fine, this topic will be closed afterwards.

regards, Elise

If I am helping you and I haven't replied within 24 hours, please feel free to send me a PM.

Posted Image


#40 longbeachlouise

longbeachlouise

    Advanced Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 224 posts

Posted 18 April 2012 - 11:39 AM

Hi Elise, Thanx for getting back to me! The "Standby" button on Shutdown is still unclickable.

I am happy to report that this computer is set up to do updates automatically on shutting down, as you can see from the attached. So my father has that right.

I will have to have my Dad read what you said about the registry cleaner. I thought, that is useful when malware causes damage, to undo the damage once the malware is gone.

$$ is low for me, but I am going to try to purchase the professional copy of Malware bytes. I think the license allows us to install it on both desktop computers in the home, right? Also, there are two laptops in the home. My Dad would probably want to install it on his pc in another state as well. What does the license cover? We have to decide where we are going to install it.

So the refresh is still buggy, and the Standby button isn't live, but I want to start the steps you suggested, above.

Attached Files






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users