Jump to content


Photo

Desktop Freezes and more


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Bobc11

Bobc11

    Not what you would think...

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 821 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Remote Host Closed Socket
  • Interests:Computers plants

Posted 01 May 2012 - 03:03 PM

Hey everyone,

I followed the directions in the Slow PC start here topic, and my computer still has the following issues:

when you right click anything, it freezes the window that you right clicked in. The menu shows up after a period of time

Programs sometimes dont open when clicked on the start menu

Programs freeze and wont open randomly

Does anyone have any idea what may be causing this?

Be who you are,
Do what you do


×÷·.·´¯`·)»The Weather Guy/Bobc11«(·´¯`·.·÷×


#2 AdvancedSetup

AdvancedSetup

    Staff

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 41,510 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:US

Posted 01 May 2012 - 03:04 PM

Do you have any external USB drives attached to the computer?

Ron Lewis
Forum Community Manager

staff.png

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook


#3 Bobc11

Bobc11

    Not what you would think...

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 821 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Remote Host Closed Socket
  • Interests:Computers plants

Posted 01 May 2012 - 03:23 PM

Do you have any external USB drives attached to the computer?


Yes a external hard drive.

Be who you are,
Do what you do


×÷·.·´¯`·)»The Weather Guy/Bobc11«(·´¯`·.·÷×


#4 AdvancedSetup

AdvancedSetup

    Staff

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 41,510 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:US

Posted 01 May 2012 - 03:50 PM

Well unplug that USB drive temporarily for a while and see if the problem goes away.

Ron Lewis
Forum Community Manager

staff.png

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook


#5 Bobc11

Bobc11

    Not what you would think...

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 821 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Remote Host Closed Socket
  • Interests:Computers plants

Posted 01 May 2012 - 04:05 PM

For how long? Also It is still occuring

Be who you are,
Do what you do


×÷·.·´¯`·)»The Weather Guy/Bobc11«(·´¯`·.·÷×


#6 AdvancedSetup

AdvancedSetup

    Staff

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 41,510 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:US

Posted 01 May 2012 - 04:12 PM

Unplug the external USB drive and reboot the computer and see if it's happening.

Ron Lewis
Forum Community Manager

staff.png

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook


#7 Bobc11

Bobc11

    Not what you would think...

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 821 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Remote Host Closed Socket
  • Interests:Computers plants

Posted 01 May 2012 - 04:34 PM

Unfortunatly the problem persists.

Be who you are,
Do what you do


×÷·.·´¯`·)»The Weather Guy/Bobc11«(·´¯`·.·÷×


#8 CWB

CWB

    Forum Deity

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,916 posts

Posted 01 May 2012 - 05:50 PM

an idea to get started down the road .
open "task manager" ...
look for *something* that is eating a lot of cpu time .

#9 Bobc11

Bobc11

    Not what you would think...

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 821 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Remote Host Closed Socket
  • Interests:Computers plants

Posted 02 May 2012 - 03:09 PM

the only thing with high usage is the system idle process, which (based on my understanding) is just how much of the proccer is not being used (i think)

Be who you are,
Do what you do


×÷·.·´¯`·)»The Weather Guy/Bobc11«(·´¯`·.·÷×


#10 AdvancedSetup

AdvancedSetup

    Staff

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 41,510 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:US

Posted 02 May 2012 - 08:41 PM

Please run the following scanner and send back the logs.

Download DDS from one of the locations below and save to your Desktop
dds.scr
dds.com


Temporarily disable any script blocker if your Anti-Virus/Anti-Malware has it.
How To Temporarily Disable Your Anti-virus, Firewall And Anti-malware Programs

Once downloaded you can disconnect from the Internet and disable your Ant-Virus temporarily if needed.
Then double click dds.scr or dds.com to run the tool, on Vista or Win 7 right click and select Run as administrator
Click the Run button if prompted with an Open File - Security Warning dialog box.
A black DOS console should open and run for a moment.
  • When done, DDS will open two (2) logs:

  • DDS.txt
  • Attach.txt
  • Save both reports to your desktop
  • Please include the following logs in your next reply: DDS.txt and Attach.txt
    You can ignore the note about zipping the Attach.txt file in most cases.

Ron Lewis
Forum Community Manager

staff.png

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook


#11 Bobc11

Bobc11

    Not what you would think...

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 821 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Remote Host Closed Socket
  • Interests:Computers plants

Posted 04 May 2012 - 03:17 PM

dds.scr or dds.com wont run. see below:

[Window Title]
C:\Users\Spencer\Desktop\dds.com

[Content]
This file does not have a program associated with it for performing this action. Please install a program or, if one is already installed, create an association in the Default Programs control panel.

[OK]

Be who you are,
Do what you do


×÷·.·´¯`·)»The Weather Guy/Bobc11«(·´¯`·.·÷×


#12 AdvancedSetup

AdvancedSetup

    Staff

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 41,510 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:US

Posted 04 May 2012 - 05:19 PM

If .com will not run either then your computer is almost certainly infected or at least damaged from an infection.



Here are the steps needed to get your computer cleaned....
Please read the following so that you can begin the cleaning process:

Don't use any temporary file cleaners unless requested - this can cause data loss and make recovery difficult

You have 3 Options that you can choose from as listed below:
  • Option 1 —— Free Expert advice in the Malware Removal Forum
  • Option 2 —— Paying customer -- Contact Support via email
  • Option 3 —— Premium, Fee-Based Support
OPTION 1



As we don't deal with malware removal in the General Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware Forum, you need to start a topic in the
Malware Removal forum so a qualified helper can help you fix any malware related problems or infections you may have.

  • Please read and follow the directions here, skipping any steps you are unable to complete.
  • After posting your new post, make sure under options, you select Follow this topic and choose Instantly,
    so that you're alerted when someone has replied to your post.
NOTE: Please do not post back to (bump) your topic within the first 48 hours.
Replying to your own posts changes the post count and helpers are looking for topics with zero replies.
If you reply to your own post helpers may think that you're already being helped and thus overlook your post.

  • If there is no reply from any experts after 48 hours, you can reply to the topic, asking for help again.
    Or
  • You may send a Private Message to a Moderator asking for assistance.
OPTION 2



Alternatively, as a paying customer, you can contact the help desk at support@malwarebytes.org or here.


OPTION 3



If you would like to use our Malwarebytes Premium Consumer Services partner, Comprehensive solutions to all your computer support needs—from installation and set-up to troubleshooting and tune-ups go to our Malwarebytes Premium Services support site.


Please be patient, someone will assist you as soon as possible.


Ron Lewis
Forum Community Manager

staff.png

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users