Jump to content


Photo

Can Full Scan Run While Other Programs Running?


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 black069

black069

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sacramento 'burbs
  • Interests:Hangin' with the ole' ball and chain. Christianity. Sports, especially NCAA Basketball, especially UNC (where I went to college). Surfing. Geography. Playing with my Miniature Schnauzer.

Posted 12 February 2009 - 05:29 PM

Just a fairly straightforward usage question. When I run the (free) anti-malware scan, I always close all the other applications while the scan runs. But since I usually do a FULL scan of my entire hard drive, it usually takes about 40-45 mins. to run. I thought that during the installation, I had read something about closing all the other windows, running applications, etc. so that the scan could run more quickly as well as not having these other (open) applications interfere with the scan and/or not be included in the scan. But I checked out the site, including instructions and forum topics, and failed to see anything that mentioned this one way or the other.

So my question, then, is the following: Can I use my computer (eg browse the web; edit a word document) while my scan is running? Or it is recommended that we close all running applications and windows during the scan?

(Having used AVG, Avast, Avira, McAfee, SuperAntiSpyware, AdAware, Spybot S&D, etc., at various points during the last few months before deciding to stick with AVG-Free and Malwarebytes, they are all sort of blending together, so it is possible that I read that while installing another antimalware program.) :)

I could use my time more efficiently if I were able to run otherr applications while the scan is running, so I'll keep my fingerrs crossed.

Thanks!

#2 GT500

GT500

    Mostly Cantankerous

  • Trusted Advisors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,250 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fortville, IN

Posted 12 February 2009 - 06:20 PM

It's always best to close all other applications when scanning for malware.

Also, to help speed the scan up, you can run something like ATF Cleaner to clear out your temp files and Temporary Internet Files.

For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, and against the worldly governors, the princes of the darkness of this world...


#3 black069

black069

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sacramento 'burbs
  • Interests:Hangin' with the ole' ball and chain. Christianity. Sports, especially NCAA Basketball, especially UNC (where I went to college). Surfing. Geography. Playing with my Miniature Schnauzer.

Posted 12 February 2009 - 06:26 PM

Thanks for clarifying.

Is CCleaner, which I currently use, pretty much on par with ATF Cleaner?

#4 exile360

exile360

    exile

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16,017 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 12 February 2009 - 07:39 PM

Yes, they're very similar and serve similar functions.
Samuel E Lindsey
Product Manager

Posted Image

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

#5 GT500

GT500

    Mostly Cantankerous

  • Trusted Advisors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,250 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fortville, IN

Posted 13 February 2009 - 01:30 AM

Yes, they're very similar and serve similar functions.


The difference is ATF Cleaner is just a tool to automate the process of clearing out temp files. CCleaner is much more advanced, and can perform many other functions.

For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, and against the worldly governors, the princes of the darkness of this world...


#6 pgovotsos

pgovotsos

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts

Posted 13 February 2009 - 09:04 PM

Does ATFCleaner work for Vista? When you run it, it says ATFCleaner for Windows XP.

Panagiotis

#7 GT500

GT500

    Mostly Cantankerous

  • Trusted Advisors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,250 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fortville, IN

Posted 14 February 2009 - 02:00 AM

Does ATFCleaner work for Vista? When you run it, it says ATFCleaner for Windows XP.

Panagiotis


It's supposed to say "AFT Cleaner For Windows Vista" when you run it on Vista... Maybe they've changed it... No, a quick download and run shows it saying Vista in Vista...

For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, and against the worldly governors, the princes of the darkness of this world...


#8 black069

black069

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sacramento 'burbs
  • Interests:Hangin' with the ole' ball and chain. Christianity. Sports, especially NCAA Basketball, especially UNC (where I went to college). Surfing. Geography. Playing with my Miniature Schnauzer.

Posted 14 February 2009 - 07:18 AM

Allow me to be among the first to wish everyone a Happy Valentine's Day. I'm spending mine alone, as my wife is in China (but is returning in a couple of days).

On the topic of file cleaners, I found what appears to be a reputable site compares and gives pointers on the use of the following applications:
  • CCleaner
  • ATF Cleaner
  • Windows Disk Cleaner
  • Cleanup!

In regards to CCleaner, they give the following advice:


It also has some additional options and tools that should be used only with great care, probably only with advice from an expert for a specific reason. Don’t use the “Registry” utility without some expert advice. It makes changes to the Windows registry. It does keep a backup, but it’s not necessary to clean the registry on a regular basis. It can be required as part of removing stubborn software and some malware.

Uncheck all the items under Windows (on the applications tab).

Do not use the Clean Registry Option unless you are an experienced technical user. The damage can be irreversible and leave your computer unbootable and in a state that requires a reinstallation of Windows or even professional repair assistance.



This is quite alarming to me since I do the exact opposite of the instructions given above. :D That is, when I do use the application, I always use both the Cleaner function and the Registry function. I run CCleaner at least 3x/week and often 2-3 times a day. And after running the "Scan For Issues" function, I allow CCleaner to "Fix All Selected Issues" without even checking the issues, mainly because I trusted CCleaner to delete registry values, etc. as needed to optimize my registry, but also, in part, because there are always so many "issues." For example, I just did the registry scan (without fixing) and there were 54 entries, with the vast majority being "Uninstaller Reference Issues," a couple of "Unused File Extensions," and 1 "Missing MUI Reference".....needless to say I don't know much about what I am looking at.

Also, when I run the Cleaner, I always leave the items under "Windows" checked. For me, these include MS Management Console, MS Paint, MS Photo Editor, MS Wordpad, and RegEdit.

For a second (and third, fourth, etc.) opinion, especially from you computer big-wigs (like GT500), what is your take on this? Is my system already fried? Or would you disagree with the above recommendations, and continue to trust CCleaner to clean the registry and incorporate the Windows Utilities in the cleaning?

The link to to the article to which I am referring is here: (at techtalkwiki.net). Let me stress that this is not from Malwarebytes' site nor from Piriform's (CCleaner's parent company).

Thanks so much for everyone's input and guidance. It is truly appreciated (and needed!).

#9 pgovotsos

pgovotsos

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts

Posted 14 February 2009 - 02:05 PM

It's supposed to say "AFT Cleaner For Windows Vista" when you run it on Vista... Maybe they've changed it... No, a quick download and run shows it saying Vista in Vista...


All I can say is on my macine it says Windows XP. Could it be because Vista 64 instead of 32? I downloaded it from the link provided above. Could there be 2 versions (XP & Vista)? Considering the layout differences between the two, I don't feel too comfortable letting it run.

Panagiotis

#10 GT500

GT500

    Mostly Cantankerous

  • Trusted Advisors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,250 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fortville, IN

Posted 14 February 2009 - 04:52 PM

All I can say is on my macine it says Windows XP. Could it be because Vista 64 instead of 32? I downloaded it from the link provided above. Could there be 2 versions (XP & Vista)? Considering the layout differences between the two, I don't feel too comfortable letting it run.

Panagiotis


I am on Vista x64, and it says 'Vista' for me. Try going to the ATF Cleaner page, and click the red link to download ATF Cleaner. Maybe there's something cookie related that sends you a different file based on what version of Windows you are running...

For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, and against the worldly governors, the princes of the darkness of this world...


#11 GT500

GT500

    Mostly Cantankerous

  • Trusted Advisors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,250 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fortville, IN

Posted 14 February 2009 - 04:55 PM

Do not use the Clean Registry Option unless you are an experienced technical user. The damage can be irreversible and leave your computer unbootable and in a state that requires a reinstallation of Windows or even professional repair assistance.


I don't think I've ever seen a registry cleaner do this. Usually such warnings are paranoia. While I prefer TuneUp Utilities, I know a lot of people who use CCleaner, and I don't think I've ever heard anyone comment "Oh, CCleaner jacked up my registry".

All a registry cleaner does is look for dead entries that point to something that doesn't exist anymore. As long as your computer doesn't get shut off while writing to the registry, then nothing bad will happen.

For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, and against the worldly governors, the princes of the darkness of this world...


#12 pgovotsos

pgovotsos

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts

Posted 15 February 2009 - 02:07 PM

I am on Vista x64, and it says 'Vista' for me. Try going to the ATF Cleaner page, and click the red link to download ATF Cleaner. Maybe there's something cookie related that sends you a different file based on what version of Windows you are running...



I went to that page and what it says is:

"Please download ATF Cleaner by Atribune.
This program is for XP and Windows 2000 only"

I guess I'll take the writer's word and keep using CCleaner

Panagiotis

#13 exile360

exile360

    exile

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16,017 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 15 February 2009 - 02:17 PM

From the same page:

Notes for Windows Vista users:

On Windows Vista that "Windows Temp" is disabled, to empty "Windows Temp" ATF-Cleaner must be "Run as an Administrator"

Prefetch has been disabled on Windows Vista. As I'm not sure the effects that emptying prefetch on Windows Vista will have for the time being it I won't enable that function.


Samuel E Lindsey
Product Manager

Posted Image

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

#14 GT500

GT500

    Mostly Cantankerous

  • Trusted Advisors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,250 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fortville, IN

Posted 15 February 2009 - 08:39 PM

I went to that page and what it says is:

"Please download ATF Cleaner by Atribune.
This program is for XP and Windows 2000 only"

I guess I'll take the writer's word and keep using CCleaner

Panagiotis


They just didn't update the system requirements to include Vista. It works fine on Vista. :D

As far as CCleaner, it does everything ATF Cleaner does, and more, so go ahead and use it. ATF Cleaner is just a simple little tool to clear temp files, and is great if you don't have a another tool to do that with.

For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, and against the worldly governors, the princes of the darkness of this world...





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users