Jump to content


Photo

Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 1.70 Released!


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
35 replies to this topic

#1 Moogle

Moogle

    Regular Member

  • Administrators
  • PipPip
  • 90 posts
  • Gender:Female

Posted 27 December 2012 - 06:14 PM

Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 1.70

DOWNLOAD: http://downloads.mal...am-download.php

Alternatively, you may also click the Check for Updates button on the Update tab of the software.

New Features:
1. New program logo and icons
2. Heuristics for 0-day exploit detection now implemented in protection module for PRO version
3. Threats detected by the protection module are now quarantined automatically by default
4. Malwarebytes Anti-Malware now shows Windows 8 START screen notifications
5. Malwarebytes Anti-Malware now identified in scan logs, registry and About tab
6. More Tools tab enhanced with tons of new content and more to come in the future
7. Option to allow a threat to run temporarily (Allow Temporarily) added to filesystem protection prompts
8. Option to add a detected item to the Ignore List (Allow Always) added to filesystem protection prompts

Improvements:
1. Heuristics for detecting new and unknown threats improved
2. Scanner efficiency improved
3. Microsoft Windows 8 and Internet Explorer 10 now identified correctly in scan logs
4. Help file updated to include information on new features
5. Better compatibility with many other security products in realtime

Please see here for the full change log.

Please let us know if you have any issues.

Thank you!
Rebecca Kline
Chief Marketing Officer

Posted Image

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

#2 glenski

glenski

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 27 December 2012 - 08:00 PM

Hi Moogle Awesome update! No problems during update at least not here, Like the way the new Icons look, they look Professional to me .As ive stated before Malwarebytes always on top! Great Job! Regards Glenski

#3 DarkSnakeKobra

DarkSnakeKobra

    May the penguin be with you!

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,262 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:~
  • Interests:Scripting, GNU/Linux, photography

Posted 27 December 2012 - 08:31 PM

No problems here!

Just a note for others you may want to close out of the program when installing the newer version since it updates the right click options in Windows Explorer else you may have to reboot. That's what I did and didn't require a reboot.

I'm not a staff member just another Malwarebytes' user.

Advice: Hug your dog, cat etc everyday! :)


#4 Buddel

Buddel

    Regular Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPip
  • 62 posts

Posted 27 December 2012 - 08:39 PM

Thanks for the new version. There is just one thing I don't like about it. I can no longer use FileASSASSIN, which used to be part of MBAM. When I now click the FileASSASSIN icon in MBAM, Internet Explorer shows me where I can download this program. First, Internet Explorer is not the browser I usually use. Why doesn't it open the browser I always use (Opera)? Second, I don't want to download FileASSASSIN as a separate program. Why is it no longer bundled with MBAM? Apart from this, the new version is great.

#5 boombastik

boombastik

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts

Posted 27 December 2012 - 08:48 PM

Hallo is the same version like the beta or i need to redowload it to update the beta version.

#6 exile360

exile360

    exile

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16,017 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 27 December 2012 - 08:49 PM

Thanks for the new version. There is just one thing I don't like about it. I can no longer use FileASSASSIN, which used to be part of MBAM. When I now click the FileASSASSIN icon in MBAM, Internet Explorer shows me where I can download this program. First, Internet Explorer is not the browser I usually use. Why doesn't it open the browser I always use (Opera)? Second, I don't want to download FileASSASSIN as a separate program. Why is it no longer bundled with MBAM? Apart from this, the new version is great.

Unfortunately, at least for this version, we had to hard-code it to use Internet Explorer though we do plan to change that eventually in a future release so that it uses your default browser instead.

Regarding FileASSASSIN, we removed that functionality from the product directly and opted instead to provide links to it and other tools offered on our website. The built in version had to be removed so that we could implement the new layout and interface for the tab.
Samuel E Lindsey
Product Manager

Posted Image

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

#7 exile360

exile360

    exile

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16,017 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 27 December 2012 - 08:49 PM

Hallo is the same version like the beta or i need to redowload it to update the beta version.

It is the same version as the beta, no need to download a new version if you already had the beta installed :).
Samuel E Lindsey
Product Manager

Posted Image

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

#8 Buddel

Buddel

    Regular Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPip
  • 62 posts

Posted 27 December 2012 - 08:53 PM

OK, thanks very much for the information, exile.

#9 exile360

exile360

    exile

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16,017 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 27 December 2012 - 08:56 PM

OK, thanks very much for the information, exile.

You're welcome :)
Samuel E Lindsey
Product Manager

Posted Image

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

#10 Guest_Seagull_*

Guest_Seagull_*
  • Guests

Posted 27 December 2012 - 10:02 PM

I have updated to 1.70.0.1100 successfully on Windows 7 x64.

I also want to add, I absolutely love the new taskbar icon and GUI, the blue and black colors are so much nicer to look at then the red. (no offense) :)

Thank you everyone at Malwarebytes for your hard work on this new update. It looks nice and is running great along side ESET Smart Security 5.2.15.1.

#11 hayc59

hayc59

    Elite Member

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 941 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:I'm Your Huckleberry

Posted 27 December 2012 - 10:03 PM

awesome and running great!!

Posted Image
9.11.01
'Never Forget'
Moderator-Beta Tester @
Outpost Users Support Forum

Microsoft® MVP Consumer Security-13


#12 pixelwizard

pixelwizard

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 27 December 2012 - 10:36 PM

Thumbs up on the new UI - the colors, the logo, etc., especially the desktop shortcut. Much better represents the excellence of what's under the hood. I really was repelled by the former blood red design.

I had the same [minor, for me] IE-defaulting gripe as user Buddel but can understand the reasoning offered in the reply by Samuel E Lindsey, Product Manager; modification can wait.

Regarding FileASSASSIN: I always have had the portable standalone version anyway! Hardly ever have had to use it, thankfully, but it's truly no inconvenience not to have a duplicate module inside of Malwarebytes.

Nice evolution on the main product.

#13 craigb

craigb

    Advanced Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 112 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia

Posted 27 December 2012 - 11:29 PM

All running well here, the news within the UI update area still references 1.65 as the latest :huh:

#14 daledoc1

daledoc1

    Forum Deity

  • Spam Hunters
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,904 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 28 December 2012 - 01:26 AM

Upgraded both DT boxes on top of 1.65 without a problem.
It did require a reboot on both of them.
(Will do the LT tomorrow after I upgrade KIS from 2012 to 2013.)

VERY nice job, MBAM team!
Program enhancements AND a facelift! :)

daledoc1

PS And, yup, as craigb noted, the update tab in the GUI still announces v.1.65. ;)

Just a home user & forum volunteer
DT1: Win7/Ult/64 SP1; Intel Core i7-3770 @3.4 GHz; 16 GB RAM; NVidia GeForce GT620; IE9; Fx; TB; Cable HSI; MBAM PRO 1.75.0.1300; KIS2014; SAS Free; CCleaner
DT2: Win7 Ult/64 SP1; Intel Core i7-860 @2.8 GHz; 8 GB RAM; ATI Radeon HD 5770; IE 9, Fx; TB; Cable HSI; MBAM PRO 1.75.0.1300; KIS2014; SAS Free; CCleaner.
LT: Win7 Pro/64 SP1; Intel Core i7-3632 cached @3.2 GHz; 16 GB RAM; NVidia GeForce GT640M; IE 10; Fx; TB; WLAN; MBAM PRO 1.75.0.1300; Sophos ES 10.3; SAS Free; CCleaner.


#15 turtledove

turtledove

    Regular Member

  • Experts
  • PipPip
  • 99 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:California

Posted 28 December 2012 - 02:16 AM

All working well, great update team. :)
Posted Image
Smile, It Will Get Better :)
Member of UNITE and ASAP

#16 siketa

siketa

    Regular Member

  • Unused Accounts
  • PipPip
  • 92 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Zagreb, Croatia

Posted 28 December 2012 - 07:13 AM

Fantastic!
This release has solved myproblem with NVT ERP.

Win 7: Emsisoft AM, AppGuard


#17 jamjar

jamjar

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England

Posted 28 December 2012 - 07:34 AM

Just a minor observation. The Update window, under Latest news, still refers to 1.65 version release.

#18 jamjar

jamjar

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England

Posted 28 December 2012 - 07:40 AM

Sorry, just seen craigb's previous post regarding the above.

#19 JonPaulOnLine

JonPaulOnLine

    Regular Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia PA USA

Posted 28 December 2012 - 10:02 AM

All is good here-

Thanks for a wonderful product

#20 Popeye

Popeye

    True Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 356 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chesapeake, Va.
  • Interests:Law Enforcement, Homeland Security, Computers, Traveling.

Posted 28 December 2012 - 11:22 AM

Smooth update over the top. Working Great with WSA Complete. Thank you for the New Release. :)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users