Jump to content


Photo

Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 1.75 Beta


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
112 replies to this topic

#1 Nightster

Nightster

    The Observer

  • Administrators
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 18 March 2013 - 07:52 PM

Greetings Malwarebytes Anti-Malware users,

We're excited to announce the next version of Malwarebytes Anti-Malware ready for beta testing! Please give it a try by downloading it below and provide your feedback in this thread, Thanks!


New Features:
  • Added ability to scan within archives

Minimum software requirements:
  • Microsoft Windows XP SP2 or higher, Windows Vista, Windows 7, and Windows 8 (32-bit and 64-bit).
  • Internet Explorer 6 or newer
Minimum hardware Requirements:
  • 256MB of RAM (512MB or more recommended)
  • 800MHz CPU or faster
  • 20MB of free hard disk space
  • 800x600 or greater screen resolution
  • Active internet connection for database and product updates
Thanks for participating in our beta program!

-- The Malwarebytes Team

Changes in build 1.75.0.1200 - Fixed 2 issues with archive scanning

Attached Files


Nicholas Lim
Director, Services & Support

Posted Image

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

#2 ShyWriter

ShyWriter

    The pencil is mightier than the bite..

  • Software Updaters
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,496 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 18 March 2013 - 11:13 PM

Working fine, so far.. Installed over previous Pro version. It kept license info and settings. SEEMS a bit slow on flash scan over previous version.

Malwarebytes Anti-Malware (PRO) 1.75.0.1100
www.malwarebytes.org

Database version: v2013.03.19.02

Windows Vista Service Pack 2 x86 NTFS
Internet Explorer 9.0.8112.16421
Steve :: PROTEUS-ONE [administrator]

Protection: Enabled

3/18/2013 11:58:27 PM
mbam-log-2013-03-18 (23-58-27).txt

Scan type: Quick scan
Scan options enabled: Memory | Startup | Registry | File System | Heuristics/Extra | Heuristics/Shuriken | PUP | PUM | P2P
Scan options disabled:
Objects scanned: 249047
Time elapsed: 9 minute(s), 36 second(s)

Memory Processes Detected: 0
(No malicious items detected)

Memory Modules Detected: 0
(No malicious items detected)

Registry Keys Detected: 0
(No malicious items detected)

Registry Values Detected: 0
(No malicious items detected)

Registry Data Items Detected: 0
(No malicious items detected)

Folders Detected: 0
(No malicious items detected)

Files Detected: 0

Steve

Edited by ShyWriter, 19 March 2013 - 10:09 AM.


#3 gerardwil

gerardwil

    True Member

  • Experts
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 450 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 19 March 2013 - 02:46 AM

Installed over the top. No issues to report.

Malwarebytes Anti-Malware (PRO) 1.75.0.1100
www.malwarebytes.org

Databaseversie: v2013.03.19.04

Windows 7 Service Pack 1 x64 NTFS
Internet Explorer 9.0.8112.16421
Gerard :: GERARD-LENOVO [administrator]

Bescherming: Ingeschakeld

19-3-2013 8:43:10
mbam-log-2013-03-19 (08-43-10).txt

Scan type: Aangepaste scan (Z:\netscan.zip|)
Ingeschakelde scan opties: Bestanden en mappen | Heuristiek/Shuriken | PUP | PUM
Uitgeschakelde scan opties: Geheugen | Opstartitems | Register | Heuristiek/Extra | P2P
Objecten gescand: 1
Verstreken tijd: 2 seconde(n)


Gerard

#4 throkr

throkr

    Regular Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 19 March 2013 - 05:17 AM

Using PRO version on Win8 Pro x64 : installed on top and everything's working fine so far ... :)

#5 DavidMbncus

DavidMbncus

    Advanced Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 102 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 19 March 2013 - 06:40 AM

I installed over the top of MBAM Pro 1.70.
No problems installing, and I did not get a re-boot required message.
I had to re-boot to get the Filesystem and Website Protection running again, and get the Tray Icon back.
Win 7 32 Bit, Avast 8 free, WinPatrol free.
I did disable Avast and WinPatrol before installing the 1.75 BETA.
No problems so far after the re-boot.

#6 DavidMbncus

DavidMbncus

    Advanced Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 102 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 19 March 2013 - 06:54 AM

What are the Archive file formats supported with this new feature?

#7 HiSpeed

HiSpeed

    Regular Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPip
  • 73 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris, France
  • Interests:Software Engineering

Posted 19 March 2013 - 07:50 AM

Works but still use too much RAM !

Awfull on old XP machines...

:rolleyes:

#8 Guest_havok_*

Guest_havok_*
  • Guests

Posted 19 March 2013 - 11:08 AM

Thanks for the info.
I'm a MBAM user since long time and I asked ages ago in Malwarebytes forum to ADD RE-SCAN QUARANTINED ITEMS (automatic or manual) feature in the prog.
Great software but this is something really missing in MBAM...
Once an item is quarantined there is no way to know if is a false positive or not, unless submitting to lab or restore...Damn!!
Please ADD re-scan quarantined items option, like in all modern antivirus\antispyware. Thanks.

#9 raman

raman

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

Posted 19 March 2013 - 01:17 PM

Mbam seems to crash if Archive scanning is enabled. Here are two logs from the same "folderscan". One with Archive scanning enable, on without.

without Archiv scanning
Malwarebytes Anti-Malware (PRO) 1.75.0.1100
www.malwarebytes.org

Datenbank Version: v2013.03.19.08

Windows 8 x64 NTFS
Internet Explorer 10.0.9200.16519
Ralf :: Asus [Administrator]

Schutz: Aktiviert

19.03.2013 18:26:21
mbam-log-2013-03-19 (18-26-21).txt

Art des Suchlaufs: Benutzerdefinierter Suchlauf (D:\Downloads|)
Aktivierte Suchlaufeinstellungen: Dateisystem | HeuristiKs/Shuriken | PUP | PUM
Deaktivierte Suchlaufeinstellungen: Speicher | Autostart | Registrierung | Heuristiks/Extra | P2P
Durchsuchte Objekte: 367
Laufzeit: 2 Minute(n), 10 Sekunde(n)

Infizierte Speicherprozesse: 0
(Keine bösartigen Objekte gefunden)

Infizierte Speichermodule: 0
(Keine bösartigen Objekte gefunden)

Infizierte Registrierungsschlüssel: 0
(Keine bösartigen Objekte gefunden)

Infizierte Registrierungswerte: 0
(Keine bösartigen Objekte gefunden)

Infizierte Dateiobjekte der Registrierung: 0
(Keine bösartigen Objekte gefunden)

Infizierte Verzeichnisse: 0
(Keine bösartigen Objekte gefunden)

Infizierte Dateien: 0
(Keine bösartigen Objekte gefunden)

(Ende)


With Archive scanning enabled

Malwarebytes Anti-Malware (PRO) 1.75.0.1100
www.malwarebytes.org

Datenbank Version: v2013.03.19.08

Windows 8 x64 NTFS
Internet Explorer 10.0.9200.16519
Ralf :: Asus [Administrator]

Schutz: Aktiviert

19.03.2013 18:30:19
mbam-log-2013-03-19 (18-30-19).txt

Art des Suchlaufs: Benutzerdefinierter Suchlauf (D:\Downloads|)
Aktivierte Suchlaufeinstellungen: Dateisystem | HeuristiKs/Shuriken | PUP | PUM
Deaktivierte Suchlaufeinstellungen: Speicher | Autostart | Registrierung | Heuristiks/Extra | P2P
Durchsuchte Objekte: 1071
Laufzeit: 51 Sekunde(n)

Infizierte Speicherprozesse: 0
(Keine bösartigen Objekte gefunden)

Infizierte Speichermodule: 0
(Keine bösartigen Objekte gefunden)

Infizierte Registrierungsschlüssel: 0
(Keine bösartigen Objekte gefunden)

Infizierte Registrierungswerte: 0
(Keine bösartigen Objekte gefunden)

Infizierte Dateiobjekte der Registrierung: 0
(Keine bösartigen Objekte gefunden)

Infizierte Verzeichnisse: 0
(Keine bösartigen Objekte gefunden)

Infizierte Dateien: 0
(Keine bösartigen Objekte gefunden)

(Ende)


MfG Ralf

#10 craigb

craigb

    Advanced Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 112 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia

Posted 19 March 2013 - 01:52 PM

Installed and working on win8 64, it does still use quite a bit of ram though on win8 compared to win7 - the mbamservice is over 100Mb which is more than double that of it's usage on win7 64.

#11 Firefox

Firefox

    Forum Deity

  • Trusted Advisors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,920 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 19 March 2013 - 03:24 PM

Installed over previous version, my pc specs are in my sig.... so far no issues

post-2065-0-92797800-1392234217.jpg


Dell Precision T7500, Win7 Ultimate 64bit fully updated, McAfee Corp Edition v8.8,
Watchguard Firewall, Intel Xeon E5606CPU, Dual Quad Core Processors, 16GB Ram,
E5606 @ 2.13GHz, Nvidia Quadro NVS420, Raid-1 Dual 1TB Sata 10000 rpm Hard Drives
Dual DVD Burners, IE10, Opera, MBAM, MBSB, MBAE


#12 MetalShaun

MetalShaun

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 19 March 2013 - 05:21 PM

Installed and working on win8 64, it does still use quite a bit of ram though on win8 compared to win7 - the mbamservice is over 100Mb which is more than double that of it's usage on win7 64.

I have noticed this also, Probably double what is was on Windows 7. Also is this the only new feature, Archive scanning?? Seems a very minor change for a new release.

#13 Anonymous_Network

Anonymous_Network

    Banned

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 672 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ethernet

Posted 19 March 2013 - 05:31 PM

Malwarebytes - Innovation Anti-Malware Technologies. :P

1.75 Beta - no problem. :)


Using PRO version on Win8 Pro x64 : installed on top and everything's working fine so far ... :)


happy. :D

Seems a very minor change for a new release.


Everything in its time. :)

#14 exile360

exile360

    exile

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16,011 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 19 March 2013 - 07:16 PM

I have noticed this also, Probably double what is was on Windows 7. Also is this the only new feature, Archive scanning?? Seems a very minor change for a new release.

Yes, just the one feature for this release. Not a lot in this one, however this is a pretty big and long requested feature from many of our users so we wanted to get it out there even if it was the only major change in this release.
Samuel E Lindsey
Product Manager

Posted Image

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

#15 Lodvg85

Lodvg85

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Washington DC

Posted 19 March 2013 - 08:45 PM

I just instaled the beta version over the top of MBAM Free 1.70.0.1100 No problems installing, but after finishing scaning found 3 virus I click to remove but i get an error.. i try to get log but there's npothing on the folder,... here is the pic of the problem...


Im using Windows XP Service Pack 3 x86

Sorry for my english :)

Posted Image

#16 AdvancedSetup

AdvancedSetup

    Staff

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 40,890 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:US

Posted 19 March 2013 - 11:35 PM

@Lodvg85

Please try restarting your computer and try again. If you continue to get an error go ahead and open a ticket on the Help Desk and someone will assist you further.

Thank you

Ron Lewis
Forum Community Manager

staff.png

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook


#17 kevpan815

kevpan815

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Algonquin, IL U.S.A.
  • Interests:Beta Testing.

Posted 20 March 2013 - 12:46 AM

Installed just fine over Malware Bytes Anti-Malware 1.70 Pro Edition. Trying a Full Scan right now to make sure it works correctly.
2013 Dell Inspiron 15 3521 Laptop with Intel Core I3 Processor, 4 GB RAM, Intel Graphics Media Accelerator HD 4000, 500 GB Seagate 5400 RPM SATA HDD, X64 Dell OEM Windows 8, Avast 8.0 Premier Edition 8.0.1483, Malware Bytes Anti-Malware Pro Edition 1.70, Malware Bytes Anti-Root Kit Beta.

#18 Tarnak

Tarnak

    Advanced Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 215 posts

Posted 20 March 2013 - 05:48 AM

After doing a scan earlier today and reporting in the False Positives forum - http://forums.malwar...=0


I have installed this beta, and have now got the following:

Malwarebytes Anti-Malware (PRO) 1.75.0.1100
www.malwarebytes.org

Database version: v2013.03.20.06

Windows XP Service Pack 3 x86 NTFS
Internet Explorer 6.0.2900.5512
My Name :: xxxxyyyy [limited]

Protection: Disabled

20/03/2013 8:20:20 PM
MBAM-log-2013-03-20 (20-36-01).txt

Scan type: Quick scan
Scan options enabled: Memory | Startup | Registry | File System | Heuristics/Extra | Heuristics/Shuriken | PUP | PUM | P2P
Scan options disabled:
Objects scanned: 214889
Time elapsed: 11 minute(s), 3 second(s)

Memory Processes Detected: 0
(No malicious items detected)

Memory Modules Detected: 0
(No malicious items detected)

Registry Keys Detected: 0
(No malicious items detected)

Registry Values Detected: 0
(No malicious items detected)

Registry Data Items Detected: 0
(No malicious items detected)

Folders Detected: 0
(No malicious items detected)

Files Detected: 1
C:\downloads\Opera_9.50b_Classic_Setup.exe (Spyware.Passwords.XGen) -> No action taken. [e06608bbe58691a5ac0bf4941ce41ee2]

(end)

#19 tetonbob

tetonbob

    Staff

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 542 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 20 March 2013 - 12:29 PM

Mbam seems to crash if Archive scanning is enabled. Here are two logs from the same "folderscan". One with Archive scanning enable, on without.



@raman, Hello! Good to see you here.
I have a few questions and a request.
Were these scans both performed using context menu function?
If MBAM crashes, how were you able to save a log for the scan with archive scanning enabled?
Does MBAM hang up (freeze) or does it crash/exit ungracefully?


I'd like to try to get a memory dump if it's a freeze.

Create a Full Crash Dump using Sysinternals Process Explorer:

Please download Sysinternals Process Explorer from here and save it to your desktop.
http://live.sysinter...com/procexp.exe

Note: If using Windows Vista or Windows 7 then you also need to do the following:

Right-click on ProcExp.exe and select Properties
Click on the Compatibility tab
Under Privilege Level check the box next to Run this program as an administrator
Click on Apply then click OK


Double-click ProcExp.exe to run it.
Once the crash happens, leave the error window open and find mbam.exe in the process list in Process Explorer and right-click on it and hover your mouse over Create Dump and select Create Full Dump...
Save the mbam.dmp file to your desktop and close Process Explorer
Right-click on the mbam.dmp file you just created and hover your mouse over Send To and select Compressed (zipped) Folder
Attach the ZIP file you just created to your next reply if it is small enough. If it isn't then please upload it to RapidShare and provide the link
http://www.rapidshare.com

All I need is the link to the file you uploaded. If you look at Rapidshare, there should be a File Manager tab on the left. Click on that. On the right, you should see the file you uploaded. Click on that. You should see a URL appear in the address bar at the top of the File Manager, right click on that, select Copy. Now, paste that URL into a reply here.
Bob Guryan
Product Support/Quality Assurance

staff.png

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

#20 tetonbob

tetonbob

    Staff

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 542 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 20 March 2013 - 12:37 PM

I just instaled the beta version over the top of MBAM Free 1.70.0.1100 No problems installing, but after finishing scaning found 3 virus I click to remove but i get an error.. i try to get log but there's npothing on the folder,... here is the pic of the problem...


Im using Windows XP Service Pack 3 x86


@Lodvg85. Hello! Thank you for your report. If a reboot as suggested by AdvancedSetup does not help, and the items are still detected, please save a log first, before attempting to remove them. We would like to see that scan log. Also, ensure you update the database before attempting a new scan.

If there is still an issue with the removal, would it be possible for you to upload those detected files for our developers to look at? You would likely need to zip them first, and them attach them to your reply.

Thank you.
Bob Guryan
Product Support/Quality Assurance

staff.png

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users