Jump to content


Photo

Chameleon 'killing known malicious processes'


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Andrew6974

Andrew6974

    Advanced Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 08 August 2013 - 02:39 PM

Hi.

 

I have a question about running Malwarebytes in Chameleon mode.

 

When it says 'killing known malicious processes' should I take that literally or is it something that always appears when anyone runs chameleon ?

 

What I want to know is does this mean that it definitely HAS found malicious processes on my computer or does it mean it is just searching for malicious processes ?

 

It runs for a few minutes before loading Malwarebytes.

 

I would be grateful if anyone could provide an answer.



#2 Firefox

Firefox

    Forum Deity

  • Trusted Advisors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,041 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 08 August 2013 - 02:49 PM

Yes that process is looking for known malicious processes to kill before it starts is scanning to that the malicious process does not interfere with Malwarebytes.

Why are you scanning using chameleon? Do you suspect you are infected or are you having issues running Malwarebytes in normal mode?

post-2065-0-92797800-1392234217.jpg


Dell Precision T7500, Win7 Ultimate 64bit fully updated, McAfee Corp Edition v8.8,
Watchguard Firewall, Intel Xeon E5606CPU, Dual Quad Core Processors, 16GB Ram,
E5606 @ 2.13GHz, Nvidia Quadro NVS420, Raid-1 Dual 1TB Sata 10000 rpm Hard Drives
Dual DVD Burners, IE10, Opera, MBAM, MBSB, MBAE


#3 Andrew6974

Andrew6974

    Advanced Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 08 August 2013 - 03:01 PM

Hi.

 

Thank you for responding.

 

Well, I have got some suspicions regarding a possible Malware infection.

 

Norton Power Eraser found a 'malicious load point' - hkey_local_machine\software\clients\startmenuinternet\firefox.exe\shell\open\command

 

Malwarebytes PRO had some difficulty running a full scan in normal mode. It kept freezing every few seconds. It has never behaved like this before so I decided to try chameleon.

 

Norton 360 is having some problems installing updates. Virus definitions regularly fail to install, prompting Norton to re-download the full virus definitions set on an almost daily basis.

 

Despite this I have managed to run full scans with Norton 360, Malwarebytes PRO, Malwarebytes Anti-Rootkit and Norton Power Eraser.

Nothing has been found apart from the above.



#4 AdvancedSetup

AdvancedSetup

    Staff

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 41,245 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:US

Posted 08 August 2013 - 03:25 PM

Hi there

 

Can you please run the following scans and post back the logs

 

 

Please run the following scanner and send back the logs.

Download DDS from one of the locations below and save to your Desktop
dds.scr
dds.com

Temporarily disable any script blocker if your Anti-Virus/Anti-Malware has it.
How To Temporarily Disable Your Anti-virus, Firewall And Anti-malware Programs

Once downloaded you can disconnect from the Internet and disable your Ant-Virus temporarily if needed.
Then double click dds.scr or dds.com to run the tool.
Click the Run button if prompted with an Open File - Security Warning dialog box.
A black DOS console should open and run for a moment.

  • When done, DDS will open two (2) logs:
    • DDS.txt
    • Attach.txt
  • Save both reports to your desktop
  • Please include the following logs in your next reply as an attachment: DDS.txt and Attach.txt
  • You can ignore the note about zipping the Attach.txt file.

 

 

 

Then run this one as well

 

Please create an mbam-check log:
 

  • Download mbam-check.exe from here and save it to your desktop
  • Double-click on mbam-check.exe to run it, it should then open a log file
  • Please do not copy and paste the entire contents of the log into your next post, instead please attach the log CheckResults.txt file which should now be located on your desktop to your next post

 

 

 

Thanks


Ron Lewis
Forum Community Manager

staff.png

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook


#5 Andrew6974

Andrew6974

    Advanced Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 08 August 2013 - 03:45 PM

Here are the requested logs...

Attached Files



#6 Firefox

Firefox

    Forum Deity

  • Trusted Advisors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,041 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 08 August 2013 - 04:03 PM

There is quite a bit going on with this computer that is going to need expert help. This is probably due to an infection or a serious hardware/software conflict.

Being that you are probably infected, feel free to follow the instructions below to receive free, one-on-one expert assistance in checking your system and clearing out any infections and correcting any damage done by the malware.

Please see the following pinned topic which has information on how to get help with this: Available Assistance for Possibly Infected Computers

Thank you

post-2065-0-92797800-1392234217.jpg


Dell Precision T7500, Win7 Ultimate 64bit fully updated, McAfee Corp Edition v8.8,
Watchguard Firewall, Intel Xeon E5606CPU, Dual Quad Core Processors, 16GB Ram,
E5606 @ 2.13GHz, Nvidia Quadro NVS420, Raid-1 Dual 1TB Sata 10000 rpm Hard Drives
Dual DVD Burners, IE10, Opera, MBAM, MBSB, MBAE


#7 Andrew6974

Andrew6974

    Advanced Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 08 August 2013 - 05:44 PM

Hi Firefox.

 

Thanks for the advice.

 

I have started a new thread here...http://forums.malwar...howtopic=130674



#8 Firefox

Firefox

    Forum Deity

  • Trusted Advisors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,041 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 08 August 2013 - 09:43 PM

That's great, please be patient and one of the experts will pick up your thread as soon as someone becomes available.

 

Good Luck


post-2065-0-92797800-1392234217.jpg


Dell Precision T7500, Win7 Ultimate 64bit fully updated, McAfee Corp Edition v8.8,
Watchguard Firewall, Intel Xeon E5606CPU, Dual Quad Core Processors, 16GB Ram,
E5606 @ 2.13GHz, Nvidia Quadro NVS420, Raid-1 Dual 1TB Sata 10000 rpm Hard Drives
Dual DVD Burners, IE10, Opera, MBAM, MBSB, MBAE





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users