Jump to content


Photo

Manual database update


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
63 replies to this topic

#1 RubbeR DuckY

RubbeR DuckY

    Marcin

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,148 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 02 February 2008 - 12:51 AM

If you are having problems downloading the database via the program, you can now download it as an installer.

http://data.mbamupda.../mbam-rules.exe
Marcin Kleczynski
Chief Executive Officer



Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

#2 yinsw

yinsw

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 25 August 2008 - 01:07 AM

Err.. bandwidth exceeded..

#3 JeanInMontana

JeanInMontana

    Delete this account!!

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,867 posts
  • Interests:would love to see some honesty around this site.

Posted 25 August 2008 - 01:19 PM

Should be back up now.

#4 peauxrouge

peauxrouge

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 05 April 2009 - 07:20 PM

Any place to get the absolute newest manual definition update? I can't auto update and the manual update from this link is a bit out of date. On the flipside, if you do auto update is there a way to take the definitions from the updated PC to a non-updated machine?> Thanks.

#5 JacobS

JacobS

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts

Posted 05 April 2009 - 10:33 PM

Any place to get the absolute newest manual definition update? I can't auto update and the manual update from this link is a bit out of date. On the flipside, if you do auto update is there a way to take the definitions from the updated PC to a non-updated machine?> Thanks.


I believe you're looking for: mbam-rules.exe

Edited by AdvancedSetup, 05 April 2009 - 10:44 PM.
Link removed. Listed site on page is the one that should be used.


#6 exile360

exile360

    exile

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16,013 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 05 April 2009 - 11:17 PM

is there a way to take the definitions from the updated PC to a non-updated machine?> Thanks.

Yes, if you look under C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Malwarebytes\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware in XP and C:\ProgramData\Malwarebytes\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware in Vista the file you want is called rules.ref.
Samuel E Lindsey
Product Manager

Posted Image

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

#7 JacobS

JacobS

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts

Posted 05 April 2009 - 11:24 PM

Reason for edit: Link removed. Listed site on page is the one that should be used.


Hmm... Was I not supposed to post that or something? I don't particularly care, I'm just curious if it was more because it was a semi-private link, or whether I misunderstood the question?

#8 peauxrouge

peauxrouge

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 05 April 2009 - 11:32 PM

I believe you're looking for: mbam-rules.exe


Well, sort of, yes. That file gives you database version 1893, which is pretty well out of date. I believe the latest database is something like 1979 or something like that. Basically the most recent manual update I can find thus far is too old. Anyone else know if there is a more recent manual update file?

#9 AdvancedSetup

AdvancedSetup

    Staff

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 40,979 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:US

Posted 06 April 2009 - 12:33 AM

Thanks for the update. I'm checking to see why the site is so far behind now.

Ron Lewis
Forum Community Manager

staff.png

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook


#10 peauxrouge

peauxrouge

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 06 April 2009 - 01:24 AM

Thanks for the update. I'm checking to see why the site is so far behind now.

Thanks!

#11 RubbeR DuckY

RubbeR DuckY

    Marcin

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,148 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 06 April 2009 - 01:54 PM

It has been updated :).
Marcin Kleczynski
Chief Executive Officer



Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

#12 AdvancedSetup

AdvancedSetup

    Staff

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 40,979 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:US

Posted 06 April 2009 - 07:20 PM

Here is the link Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware Database - manual update

This link can also be found on the main page here: Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware

In general its best to always allow the program to be updated from within the program as this manual update will always be behind the current definitions.

Ron Lewis
Forum Community Manager

staff.png

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook


#13 peauxrouge

peauxrouge

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 06 April 2009 - 07:30 PM

Sure, I was just asking because I was scanning a PC where a bug was blocking malwarebytes from autoupdating.

#14 drmax

drmax

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 12 April 2009 - 10:30 AM

Sure, I was just asking because I was scanning a PC where a bug was blocking malwarebytes from autoupdating.

can the installer be updated with the latest 1970, plz? a bug is not allowing to update the regular way.
thank you

#15 Maurice Naggar

Maurice Naggar

    Staff

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,550 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Security, Windows, Windows Update, malware prevention

Posted 12 April 2009 - 10:52 AM

@drmax
What bug? Are you seeing any message(s) when attempting to update? and if so, what are they?
Maurice Naggar
Product Support

staff.png

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

I close my threads if there is 5 days without a response.

#16 drmax

drmax

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 12 April 2009 - 11:47 AM

@drmax
What bug? Are you seeing any message(s) when attempting to update? and if so, what are they?

Hello. I apparently do not have a bug...now. Now what my problem is, is that I had restored windows to a previous state. No I am unable to reverse this, as the restore feature is not working. I am only able to start in the safe mode. When trying to start normally, I'll see the normal start-up, (with an extremely quick flash of a smaller blue box...can't read it) then the windows thing saying starting, then it cycles back to start up. No go.
Also, now when I try to run SFC /SCANNOW, with cd in drive, just a quick blip appears on screen then goes away.
Dunno....looks like I'm heading for a format.

#17 Maurice Naggar

Maurice Naggar

    Staff

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,550 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Security, Windows, Windows Update, malware prevention

Posted 12 April 2009 - 12:36 PM

@drmax

You also have a recent open thread in the Malware-HijackThis sub-forum.
Please stop multi-posting in the different sub-forums, and probably just go back to the HJT sub-forum.
But then too, if there is no malware issues, you ought not to be there either.

If you have a good, complete system backup, use that to restore the system.
And for your benefit, if malware is suspected, one should never use System Restore to go backwards as often that is not the complete solution either; and the fact that malwares can very often be in areas not protected or monitored by System Restore.

Stick with your original post at http://www.malwareby...showtopic=13980
Maurice Naggar
Product Support

staff.png

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

I close my threads if there is 5 days without a response.

#18 drmax

drmax

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 13 April 2009 - 04:01 PM

@drmax

You also have a recent open thread in the Malware-HijackThis sub-forum.
Please stop multi-posting in the different sub-forums, and probably just go back to the HJT sub-forum.
But then too, if there is no malware issues, you ought not to be there either.

If you have a good, complete system backup, use that to restore the system.
And for your benefit, if malware is suspected, one should never use System Restore to go backwards as often that is not the complete solution either; and the fact that malwares can very often be in areas not protected or monitored by System Restore.

Stick with your original post at http://www.malwareby...showtopic=13980

Sorry about that. Please delete all of that confusion. My pc is formatted and all better.
My hands were full with a messed up pc and my little kids. (yesterday)
Please accept my appologies. I'm usually more professional. DM

#19 benglish60

benglish60

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts

Posted 12 May 2009 - 11:32 AM

The Download link for the Update is Not available now.

Too bad as I sure do not desire to turn the Internet on a machine I am cleaning and installing Malwarebytes on till I am sure it's clean enough to do so. By allowing me to download the latest update manually, I can assure the computer is clean enough to now turn Internet on and register the product and download latest database.

bill

#20 swagger

swagger

    Elite Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 893 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Carolina

Posted 12 May 2009 - 01:46 PM

Works for me! @ 1445 EST

Desktop ----- Intel i5, 8GB DDR3, ASUS Mainboard, 500GB HD, Windows 7 SP2, Avira Antivir Personal, MBAM Pro
Laptop ----- Intel C2D P8400 (2.4 Ghz), 4GB DDR3 1066, Mainboard, 160GB HD, Linux Mint





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users