Jump to content


Photo

New Version of Startup Lite!


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 jelrik

jelrik

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belgium

Posted 12 February 2010 - 07:53 AM

Hello Malwarebyte's Team,
i want to now when a new version comes of Startup-lite when its a long time ago that there was a new version released..
God Bless You With The Best Malwarebyte's Version You Can Get!

#2 DarkSnakeKobra

DarkSnakeKobra

    May the penguin be with you!

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,262 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:~
  • Interests:Scripting, GNU/Linux, photography

Posted 12 February 2010 - 07:28 PM

It could be discontinued as it has yet to be listed as compatible with Windows 7. Although Malwarebytes' is their main product they could be just focusing on that while slowing working with Start-Up Lite. :D Also since they provide free products and lifetime license a lot of money may not be going to development of Start-Up Lite. I'm not sure really. ;)

I'm not a staff member just another Malwarebytes' user.

Advice: Hug your dog, cat etc everyday! :)


#3 DGMurdockIII

DGMurdockIII

    Regular Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indianapolis, indiana

Posted 18 March 2010 - 07:13 PM

i hope it is not discontinued i use this program all the time

#4 ShanOw

ShanOw

    Regular Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPip
  • 86 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 12 June 2010 - 07:11 AM

It functions fine on Windows 7, but its internal database of startup items is getting a bit outdated. If Malwarebytes wishes to discontinue the program I sure they will be able to find someone to take over maintaining it.

#5 Crush

Crush

    New Member

  • Honorary Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts

Posted 19 June 2010 - 08:13 PM

StartupLite is awesome! I really hope it works on Win 7 soon
"I am in fact, quite cool. My graphing calculator confirms this"
"RAM disk is not an installation procedure."
Posted Image

#6 hotlips69

hotlips69

    Regular Member

  • Experts
  • PipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sussex. U.K.

Posted 18 September 2010 - 09:04 PM

I also use Startup Lite regularly in addition to Autoruns as it's a quick way to stop unneeded programs that I may not recognise using Autoruns.

It works perfectly on Windows 7, but the database could do with being updated, which I'm happy to assist in any way I can as I'm always removing unnecessary programs from clients laptops etc...

Any comment Marcin?

#7 TeMerc

TeMerc

    Staff

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,018 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Phx. AZ. USA
  • Interests:Formula 1 Auto Racing, Computer Security, Entertainment, Sci-Fi, SuperHeroes

Posted 19 September 2010 - 01:55 AM

At this time there are no plans that I'm aware of to update this software in the near future
Tom Mercado
Product Support Team Lead

Posted Image

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

#8 DarkSnakeKobra

DarkSnakeKobra

    May the penguin be with you!

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,262 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:~
  • Interests:Scripting, GNU/Linux, photography

Posted 03 October 2010 - 03:40 PM

At this time there are no plans that I'm aware of to update this software in the near future


That's a shame.:welcome:

I'm not a staff member just another Malwarebytes' user.

Advice: Hug your dog, cat etc everyday! :)


#9 exile360

exile360

    exile

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16,011 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 03 October 2010 - 06:42 PM

There's such a variety of unnecessary startups out there these days, and the process names for them change all the time with new program versions so keeping track would be more than a full time job.

That being the case, I personally recommend using Autoruns, making sure to research all entries carefully using trusted and frequently updated startup info databases like the one on Bleeping Computer.

Also be sure to only uncheck entries with Autoruns, there's no need to delete them, that way you already have a backup in case you accidentally disable something and want or need to enable it again.
Samuel E Lindsey
Product Manager

Posted Image

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users