Jump to content


Photo

Ip protection module


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 begbodyguard

begbodyguard

    New Member

  • Honorary Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Zarren - Belgium

Posted 24 March 2010 - 10:05 AM

I did some tests. And the result is :
Ip protection didn't stop the websites :D :

So first i started by going to a website that is / was blocked ( http://www.soerenrin...uts/update.html ) found somewhere in this forum.
First time it was blocked now I tried the following :
I opened Opera (last version) , I turned Opera Turbo on. And went to the link again and It worked.
So I'm still able to go to a link that is attacking my computer just by using opera????

#2 byte_king

byte_king

    True Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 385 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:london, ON

Posted 24 March 2010 - 12:57 PM

I am using Firefox with W7 32-bit and I have not encountered this problem.

#3 Rednose

Rednose

    Regular Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPip
  • 63 posts

Posted 24 March 2010 - 01:22 PM

I can confirm the OP's issue : With Opera Turbo on, "Website Blocking" doesn't work, while with Opera Turbo off it works perfectly well.

Greetz, Red.

#4 mountaintree16

mountaintree16

    bird lover

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,754 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Hiking, music, birds, bird watching, walking, reading, animals, computer security, poetry...

Posted 24 March 2010 - 01:22 PM

You should post in the False Positives forum with the IP # & the website name and someone can check on it for you.

I went to that URL in Orca Browser and got a complete IP block.

Our character is what we do when we think no one is looking.

-H. Jackson Brown Jr.

 

It's not what we do once in a while that shapes our lives.
It's what we do consistently.

Tony Robbins


#5 begbodyguard

begbodyguard

    New Member

  • Honorary Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Zarren - Belgium

Posted 24 March 2010 - 01:26 PM

You should post in the False Positives forum with the IP # & the website name and someone can check on it for you.

I went to that URL in Orca Browser and got a complete IP block.

that isn't the problem it is the fact that you with opera turbo can go to blocked sites

#6 mountaintree16

mountaintree16

    bird lover

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,754 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Hiking, music, birds, bird watching, walking, reading, animals, computer security, poetry...

Posted 24 March 2010 - 01:28 PM

Hmm.

Well, I'm sure that someone will look into this :) In the meantime, I wouldn't use turbo just in case so that you won't go to any infected sites accidentally.

Also, please use the ADD REPLY button when replying :)

Our character is what we do when we think no one is looking.

-H. Jackson Brown Jr.

 

It's not what we do once in a while that shapes our lives.
It's what we do consistently.

Tony Robbins


#7 exile360

exile360

    exile

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16,017 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 March 2010 - 05:40 PM

I believe it's because Turbo is essentially a proxy server, meaning you aren't actually connecting directly to the IP's that are blocked, but instead through the proxy server.
Samuel E Lindsey
Product Manager

Posted Image

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

#8 Swandog46

Swandog46

    Elite Member

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 958 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 March 2010 - 05:49 PM

If I remember correctly, Opera Turbo encrypts IP traffic, so there may be nothing we can do about this. We can't scan what we can't read. What operating system is this on?
Doug Swanson
Chief Technical Officer

Posted Image

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

#9 centralkong

centralkong

    Advanced Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 101 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A mason in Archades

Posted 24 March 2010 - 09:37 PM

You're right indeed, Opera Turbo is a proxy server which encrypts its traffic and in addition compresses it.

#10 G1111

G1111

    Regular Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPip
  • 57 posts

Posted 25 March 2010 - 11:47 PM

Does IP Protection wok in Google Chrome. I tested a few links in the Malware Domain List and didn't get any warnings from MBAM 1.45 IP Protection.

#11 G1111

G1111

    Regular Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPip
  • 57 posts

Posted 26 March 2010 - 12:11 AM

Does IP Protection work in Google Chrome. I tested a few links in the Malware Domain List and didn't get any warnings from MBAM 1.45 IP Protection.

Did some more tests and it does work. I did get warnings.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users