Jump to content


Photo

Malwarebytes Manual Definition - Download


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 PowerPenguin

PowerPenguin

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 02 June 2010 - 09:07 PM

Hello, I know this has been asked in the past as I searched on the topic. I would like to be able to download the definitions for MalWareBytes to install on a computer that doesn't have Internet access, I found this link but the download link just installs a new version of Malwarebytes. I also came across a page that mentioned you can update Malwarebytes on a computer with internet access then copy a definition file to the other computers without internet access, but the location they mention to search for the definition file doesn't exist and I can't find it manually myself.


#2 gtyhfy

gtyhfy

    Just a small potato in this forum ;)

  • Translators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 864 posts

Posted 02 June 2010 - 10:38 PM

Hello PowerPenguin, :)

For convenience, I will copy the relevant section you have read first -

ISSUE: I need to get the latest database onto a computer that cannot access the Internet.
SOLUTION: You can manually copy the database from a working computer using a flash drive or CD onto the infected PC. Our database file is stored in the following locations.

  • Windows XP and 2000
  • C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Malwarebytes\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\rules.ref
  • Windows Vista and Windows 7:
  • C:\ProgramData\Malwarebytes\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\rules.ref
You can also download a manual update from here - NOTE: This manual update will always be way behind in version level compared to updates from within the program

  • The download link above is a file called mbam-rules.exe, which is a setup file for putting the rules.def to the default location.
  • Please ensure that computer has MBAM installed. Click Start the click Run. Copy the whole path (but without "rules.def"), and paste it at the RUN box. Click ok. It will open the folder, and you can find the definitions file there.
Please post back if you have further questions.
Thank you :)
Regards,

Tony.

#3 PowerPenguin

PowerPenguin

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 03 June 2010 - 06:05 AM

Hello PowerPenguin, :)

For convenience, I will copy the relevant section you have read first -

  • The download link above is a file called mbam-rules.exe, which is a setup file for putting the rules.def to the default location.
  • Please ensure that computer has MBAM installed. Click Start the click Run. Copy the whole path (but without "rules.def"), and paste it at the RUN box. Click ok. It will open the folder, and you can find the definitions file there.
Please post back if you have further questions.
Thank you :)



I downloaded the file mbam-rules.exe and not only can I not run MalwareBytes anymore without getting the error (Error: 730 (0,0)) but I can't find rules.def ? Argh.


#4 gtyhfy

gtyhfy

    Just a small potato in this forum ;)

  • Translators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 864 posts

Posted 03 June 2010 - 10:54 PM

Hello PowerPenguin,

OK, then let's try to reinstall the MBAM to the latest version to see if it can solve the problem then. Please follow the instructions below by choosing the correct version of your system:

For Windows XP:
  • Click on Start and select Control Panel
  • Open Add/Remove Programs
  • Uninstall Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware
  • Restart your computer very important
  • Download and run mbam-clean.exe from here
  • It will ask to restart your computer, please allow it to do so very important
  • After the computer restarts, temporarily disable your Anti-Virus and install the latest version of Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware from here. Remember to enable your Anti-Virus after installation.
For Windows Vista and Windows 7:
  • Click on the Start Posted Image button and select Control Panel
  • Click on Programs and Features
  • Uninstall Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware
  • Restart your computer very important
  • Download and run mbam-clean.exe from here
  • It will ask to restart your computer, please allow it to do so very important
  • After the computer restarts, temporarily disable your Anti-Virus and install the latest version of Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware from here. Remember to enable your Anti-Virus after installation.
Note:
  • You will need to reactivate the program using the license you were sent via email if using the Pro version
  • Launch the program and set the Protection and Registration. Then go to the UPDATE tab if not done during installation and check for updates.
    Restart the computer again and verify that MBAM is in the task tray if using the Pro version. Now setup any file exclusions as may be required in your Anti-Virus/Internet-Security/Firewall applications and restart your Anti-Virus/Internet-Security applications. You may use the guides posted in the FAQ's here or ask and we'll explain how to do it.

If it is not successful, can you tell what operating system (XP/ Vista/ 7) and antivirus/ internet security you are using on that computer. In addition, please go to the "More tools" tab of MBAM, press the "Collect Information" button, save it and attach it in the next post.

Please use the "ADDREPLY" button at the bottom of the topic instead of the "QUOTE" or "REPLY" ones.

Thank You :)

Edit - changing one instruction.
Regards,

Tony.

#5 PowerPenguin

PowerPenguin

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:32 PM

I've installed Malwarebytes 1.46 now how do I go about manually updating ? I've tried using the methods I've explained in the the original message of this thread and it didn't work.

#6 mountaintree16

mountaintree16

    bird lover

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,754 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Hiking, music, birds, bird watching, walking, reading, animals, computer security, poetry...

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:36 PM

Hi PowerPenguin,

Did you try replacing rules.ref on the infected/unable to update machine with an updated copy of rules.ref from a clean, working machine as outlined here in
Issue #4:?
http://forums.malwar...s...ost&p=49525

Also what OS (XP, Vista, 7, or 2000) are you running?

Most likely you need to show hidden files/folders in order to get to where rules.ref is, and I can give you instructions if you need them on how to do this. :)

Our character is what we do when we think no one is looking.

-H. Jackson Brown Jr.

 

It's not what we do once in a while that shapes our lives.
It's what we do consistently.

Tony Robbins


#7 PowerPenguin

PowerPenguin

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 09 June 2010 - 08:12 AM

Did you try replacing rules.ref on the infected/unable to update machine with an updated copy of rules.ref from a clean, working machine as outlined here in
Issue #4:?
http://forums.malwar...s...ost&p=49525



I followed the instructions on that page, there is no rules.ref even when I show hidden files in the /program_files/malwarebytes folder. The link you provided mentions to look within this folder, there is no ProgramData Folder that I can see.

# Windows Vista and Windows 7:
# C:\ProgramData\Malwarebytes\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\rules.ref



#8 Firefox

Firefox

    Forum Deity

  • Trusted Advisors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,014 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 09 June 2010 - 10:52 AM

PowerPenguin what version of windows do you have and is it 32bit or 64bit?

post-2065-0-92797800-1392234217.jpg


Dell Precision T7500, Win7 Ultimate 64bit fully updated, McAfee Corp Edition v8.8,
Watchguard Firewall, Intel Xeon E5606CPU, Dual Quad Core Processors, 16GB Ram,
E5606 @ 2.13GHz, Nvidia Quadro NVS420, Raid-1 Dual 1TB Sata 10000 rpm Hard Drives
Dual DVD Burners, IE10, Opera, MBAM, MBSB, MBAE


#9 PowerPenguin

PowerPenguin

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 09 June 2010 - 05:09 PM

Windows7 version and it's 64-bit!

#10 Firefox

Firefox

    Forum Deity

  • Trusted Advisors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,014 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 09 June 2010 - 05:30 PM

Here are the correct locations for all Malwarebytes file locations on 64 vit version of windows.....

For 64 bit versions of Windows Vista or Windows 7:
  • C:\Program Files (x86)\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbam.exe
  • C:\Program Files (x86)\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbamgui.exe
  • C:\Program Files (x86)\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbamservice.exe
  • C:\Program Files (x86)\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\zlib.dll
  • C:\Program Files (x86)\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbam.dll
  • C:\Program Files (x86)\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbamext.dll
  • C:\ProgramData\Malwarebytes\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\rules.ref
  • C:\Windows\System32\drivers\mbam.sys
  • C:\Windows\SysWoW64\drivers\mbamswissarmy.sys

post-2065-0-92797800-1392234217.jpg


Dell Precision T7500, Win7 Ultimate 64bit fully updated, McAfee Corp Edition v8.8,
Watchguard Firewall, Intel Xeon E5606CPU, Dual Quad Core Processors, 16GB Ram,
E5606 @ 2.13GHz, Nvidia Quadro NVS420, Raid-1 Dual 1TB Sata 10000 rpm Hard Drives
Dual DVD Burners, IE10, Opera, MBAM, MBSB, MBAE


#11 YoKenny1

YoKenny1

    Forum Deity

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,739 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ont. Canada
  • Interests:Using computers for learning.
    Happily retired IBMer after 31 years mainly in hardware maintenance.

Posted 09 June 2010 - 05:43 PM

I see rules.ref in C:\ProgramData\Malwarebytes\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware on my Windows 7 64-bit system.

Have you taken Ownership of the file?

Attached Images

  • rules.PNG

E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Win7 Home Premium 64-bit, avast! V6.0 Free, IE9
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3, 32-bit, avast! V6.0 Pro, Macrium Reflect
with IE8 and Chrome, hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, MBAM Full, OpenDNS, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

#12 Firefox

Firefox

    Forum Deity

  • Trusted Advisors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,014 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 09 June 2010 - 05:50 PM

@ YoKenny1 Why would you want to take ownership of that file?

post-2065-0-92797800-1392234217.jpg


Dell Precision T7500, Win7 Ultimate 64bit fully updated, McAfee Corp Edition v8.8,
Watchguard Firewall, Intel Xeon E5606CPU, Dual Quad Core Processors, 16GB Ram,
E5606 @ 2.13GHz, Nvidia Quadro NVS420, Raid-1 Dual 1TB Sata 10000 rpm Hard Drives
Dual DVD Burners, IE10, Opera, MBAM, MBSB, MBAE


#13 PowerPenguin

PowerPenguin

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 09 June 2010 - 05:59 PM

I honestly don't have a ProgramData folder. This installation of Windows7 did not create one.

#14 AdvancedSetup

AdvancedSetup

    Staff

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 41,101 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:US

Posted 09 June 2010 - 06:20 PM

You may need to set your files and folders to show hidden files to see that folder or others like it.

Ron Lewis
Forum Community Manager

staff.png

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook


#15 YoKenny1

YoKenny1

    Forum Deity

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,739 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ont. Canada
  • Interests:Using computers for learning.
    Happily retired IBMer after 31 years mainly in hardware maintenance.

Posted 09 June 2010 - 06:24 PM

I honestly don't have a ProgramData folder. This installation of Windows7 did not create one.

Go back and read and follow gtyhfy's Post #4

You are using an Administrator Account to do this?
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Win7 Home Premium 64-bit, avast! V6.0 Free, IE9
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3, 32-bit, avast! V6.0 Pro, Macrium Reflect
with IE8 and Chrome, hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, MBAM Full, OpenDNS, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

#16 PowerPenguin

PowerPenguin

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 09 June 2010 - 07:05 PM

I've read that message and followed what was mentioned, as well as being logged in as Administrator but the problem remains unsolved.

#17 Wide Glide

Wide Glide

    Just a pebble in the stream

  • Spam Hunters
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,532 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Louisiana, USA

Posted 09 June 2010 - 07:21 PM

Hello PowerPenguin :)

To do what AdvancedSetup suggested

Show Hidden Files and Folders in Windows Vista and Windows 7:

Click on the Start Start_Button.JPG button and select Computer

# Press the Alt key on your keyboard and click on Tools
# Select Folder Options
# Click the View tab and make sure that Show hidden files and folders is selected under Hidden files and folders
# Next, uncheck the box next to Hide protected operating system files (Recommended)
# Then, uncheck the box next to Hide extensions for known file types
# Click Apply then click OK

Now see if Program Data is there

Reset Hidden Files and Folders in Windows Vista and Windows 7:

Click on the Start Start_Button.JPG button and select Computer

Press the Alt key on your keyboard and click on Tools
Select Folder Options
# Click the View tab and make sure that Do not show hidden files and folders is selected under Hidden files and folders
# Next, check the box next to Hide protected operating system files (Recommended)
# Then, check the box next to Hide extensions for known file types
# Click Apply then click OK

Vista HP 64bit 7Mtxr.png


#18 Maurice Naggar

Maurice Naggar

    Staff

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,550 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Security, Windows, Windows Update, malware prevention

Posted 09 June 2010 - 07:34 PM

Hello PowerPenguin.

This is another way to Set Folder options to show all hidden files and folders on Windows 7:
  • Click the Start button Posted Image, click Control Panel, click Appearance and Personalization, and then click Folder Options.
  • Click the View tab.
  • Under Advanced settings, click Show hidden files, folders, and drives, and then click OK. & Apply changes

Maurice Naggar
Product Support

staff.png

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

I close my threads if there is 5 days without a response.

#19 PenguinPower

PenguinPower

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 11 June 2010 - 07:39 AM

I've done everything suggested including un-hidding hidden folders, files etc. And there is no ProgramData Folder for which I can find rules.ref !!

#20 gtyhfy

gtyhfy

    Just a small potato in this forum ;)

  • Translators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 864 posts

Posted 11 June 2010 - 09:40 AM

Hello PenguinPower,

First, are you the same person as PowerPenguin? If yes, please stick with only one account as it make all of us in this thread confused.

Then, I would like to have one thing for you to do on the computer:

Please go back to my post #4, and do the things that I've told you to you after the clean install instruction and the request of software information. I quote it here for convenience.

...In addition, please go to the "More tools" tab of MBAM, press the "Collect Information" button, save it and attach it in the next post.

In the quote, "it" means the text file (log) generated.

You may replace the username(s) in the log with "xxxxx".

Thank you.
Regards,

Tony.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users