Jump to content


Photo

Do I "NEED" AntiVirus Software as well as Malwarebytes


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 dcohn

dcohn

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 13 June 2010 - 02:23 PM

I am thinking that MBAM is enough by itself.

Considering I have locations that run Kaspersky, which I consider a better product in the marketplace, that get infected and get cleaned by using MBAM.

What is the point. Why not just run MBAM at all these locations and nothing else and get my CPU and resources back.

MBAm stop viruses as well, does it not?

Surely I can add Gateway Kaspersky (such as with a Juniper SSG-5) and then MBAM is more than adequate as long as the mail has it's own protection as well (Barracuda).

So I want to know, if you do all the due diligence then is MBAM enough? How about without the Gateway Antivirus but with Mail protection. Is it enough then?

I know developers that refuse to add AV to their systems because of the resources it robs. They are talented and can clean their systems when something occurs (or wipe and reinstall) but I still prefer they had something. The question is what is worth wasting their time with. I thought Kas was but it got hit recently with a user getting the fake antispyware crap.

#2 Glebe

Glebe

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts

Posted 13 June 2010 - 02:29 PM

mbam+Microsoft Sec. Essentials= pro..

#3 whatmeworry?

whatmeworry?

    True Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 326 posts

Posted 13 June 2010 - 02:40 PM

What is the point. Why not just run MBAM at all these locations and nothing else and get my CPU and resources back.

MBAm stop viruses as well, does it not?

MBAM Pro is intended to complement a good anti-virus program, not to replace it. MBAM is good at catching things that many of the AV programs miss, but it does not look for all the things that the AV programs do. There are AV programs that aren't too heavy on your system's resources. The one that Glebe mentioned, Microsoft Security Essentials, is one. It's light enough on resources that I put it on my little netbook, and I've been pleased. Avast is another highly recommended program, and Avira is a third. All come in free versions (though Avast and Avira also have commercial versions).

Bottom line: MBAM and an AV program have different functions. You should have both.

Dell XPS 8300 Win7 Prof. 64-bit desktop (Intel Core i5-2400 processor, 8 GB RAM): MS Security Essentials AV, Windows Firewall, MBAM Pro, WinPatrol PLUS
Dell Latitude E5530 Win7 Prof. 64-bit laptop: (Intel 3rd gen. i5-3230M processor, 4 GB RAM), MS Security Essentials AV, Windows Firewall, MBAM Pro, WinPatrol PLUS


#4 Maurice Naggar

Maurice Naggar

    Staff

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,550 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Security, Windows, Windows Update, malware prevention

Posted 13 June 2010 - 02:42 PM

@dcohn
MBAM has no antivirus component. You must have an AV. Do NOT go without one. period.
Microsoft's Security Essentials would be a good choice, if you do not have an AV.
Maurice Naggar
Product Support

staff.png

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

I close my threads if there is 5 days without a response.

#5 redman2563

redman2563

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Posted 14 June 2010 - 01:41 AM

I definetely third the motion to add Microsoft Security Essentials, Like Malwarebytes=) its very un-intrusive and updates regularly as long as you have your automatic updates turned on.
Piece of advice, if you do purchase MBAM pro, you should go to the scheduler and schedule a daily update because to my knowledge, it doesnt update manually.

#6 dcohn

dcohn

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 14 June 2010 - 05:14 AM

These are business locations I refer to. Not homes. We are very comfortable with Kaspersky compared to the other products when it comes to resource usage. As long as it is configured properly and the unneeded modules are disabled of course.

It seems like there are few corporate users here. Am I in the wrong forum maybe?

My reasons for asking were based on the fact that the only event we have had in some time required MBAM to clean up.

If Malwarebytes is not designed to stop a Virus then a Gateway AntiVirus product, a mail AV & JunkMail product and MBAM at the client should do the trick. I cannot use Free Antivirus on business systems obviously!

The fact that Kas BOSS supposedly includes the same protection as MBAM as far as ANTISPYWARE is concerned yet fails to prevent issues that MBAM resolves is very disconcerting. This holds true to the other products you suggest as well since AVG and AVAST also contain Antispyware components yet I need MBAM to do the job properly.

I am not sure what basis these recommendations are given under. I was hoping to hear what other business users feel.

Thanks

#7 Ghost Prototype

Ghost Prototype

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 14 June 2010 - 08:31 AM

These are business locations I refer to. Not homes. We are very comfortable with Kaspersky compared to the other products when it comes to resource usage. As long as it is configured properly and the unneeded modules are disabled of course.

It seems like there are few corporate users here. Am I in the wrong forum maybe?

My reasons for asking were based on the fact that the only event we have had in some time required MBAM to clean up.

If Malwarebytes is not designed to stop a Virus then a Gateway AntiVirus product, a mail AV & JunkMail product and MBAM at the client should do the trick. I cannot use Free Antivirus on business systems obviously!

The fact that Kas BOSS supposedly includes the same protection as MBAM as far as ANTISPYWARE is concerned yet fails to prevent issues that MBAM resolves is very disconcerting. This holds true to the other products you suggest as well since AVG and AVAST also contain Antispyware components yet I need MBAM to do the job properly.

I am not sure what basis these recommendations are given under. I was hoping to hear what other business users feel.

Thanks


Why can you not use free antivirus on a business system? I'm managing a computer recycling and repair shop, and we too use Microsoft Security Essentials. So what if it's free? If anything, that should be a selling point!

If you really want to double check, you can always run an online scan with Kaspersky (though I prefer eset's online scanner) to make sure it's doing its job.

This holds true to the other products you suggest as well since AVG and AVAST also contain Antispyware components yet I need MBAM to do the job properly.


The issue with thinking like this, is that no one antivirus product is going to catch 100% of all malicious software. The idea is to have two products that together should be able to protect the computer better than any one product will.

I was hoping to hear what other business users feel.

Again, why does this matter? Business users and home users are under threat of the exact same malicious software. If anything, home users are at more of a risk, due to the number of different sites they will encounter.

#8 exile360

exile360

    exile

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16,017 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 14 June 2010 - 10:26 AM

Free antivirus software like Microsoft Security Essentials is not licensed for business or corporate use, only home use. Microsoft offers a separate corporate client for use in business called ForeFront. It is a violation of the End User License Agreement of most free software to use it in a business environment.
Samuel E Lindsey
Product Manager

Posted Image

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

#9 dcohn

dcohn

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 14 June 2010 - 11:21 AM

Thanks

Clearly you do not understand licensing and the laws surrounding them .

It is businesses that use illegal software that place a terrible burden on all resellers. Hopefully you are installing them on users home machines at no charge as that would not matter. Using them on your internal use systems is 100% against the licensing.

Many of them limit how many licenses you may use as well.

For example READ AVG's license and it states ONE MACHINE per household and it is quite clearly stated during setup.

#10 Wide Glide

Wide Glide

    Just a pebble in the stream

  • Spam Hunters
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,532 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Louisiana, USA

Posted 14 June 2010 - 12:33 PM

So that there is no misunderstanding about MSE :)

MICROSOFT SOFTWARE LICENSE TERMS
MICROSOFT SECURITY ESSENTIALS 1.0


Read HERE

Namely Item 1.

INSTALLATION AND USE RIGHTS.

* Use. You may install and use any number of copies of the software on your devices in your household for use by people who reside there or for use in your home-based small business.

Vista HP 64bit 7Mtxr.png


#11 Maurice Naggar

Maurice Naggar

    Staff

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,550 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Security, Windows, Windows Update, malware prevention

Posted 14 June 2010 - 09:46 PM

@dcohn
I obviously had not noticed from your initial post that you were in a business/corporate setting. My bad.
So MSE is not a viable choice in your setting.
Maurice Naggar
Product Support

staff.png

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

I close my threads if there is 5 days without a response.

#12 dcohn

dcohn

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 15 June 2010 - 12:18 AM

I appreciate the intent very much.

The resource usage dedicated to keeping Malware off the system has become out of hand.

#13 Couposn

Couposn

    Advanced Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 197 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:My Desk
  • Interests:Programming, Cold Weather, Cola, Computers.

Posted 16 June 2010 - 05:46 AM

I use Avira Free AntiVirus it works great, I suggest you try it out ;)
Get the FULL Version too Malwarebytes Coupon
Installed Protection: Malwarebytes Review + Avira
Licensed all my computers with premium version using Malwarebytes Coupon
Posted Image
CompTIA A+, CompTIA N+, MCDST, ADITP, NVQ in IT, Currently Studying: C++ and PHP, CSS, HTML

Spec:
Windows 7 64bit Ultimate Edition, 16GB DDR3 RAM, 2TB SATA HDD + 60GB SSD, AMD Phenom X6 Six Core
Software: Mozilla Firefox, CCleaner, Discounted Malwarebytes Coupon, VLC Media Player


#14 noknojon

noknojon

    you know why ---

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,090 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 16 June 2010 - 06:07 AM

Free antivirus software like Microsoft Security Essentials is not licensed for business or corporate use, only home use. Microsoft offers a separate corporate client for use in business called ForeFront. It is a violation of the End User License Agreement of most free software to use it in a business environment.

@ Couposn - This relates to Most Free A/V programs as well as Malwarebytes -
You must read the EULA when in a company environment -
Thank You - ;)

@ dchon - I have read that Avast have a good A/V for company use, but you must investigate each one that suits Your situation -
Just another private helper .......................... The answer is always 42, or Reboot
If you are waiting for an answer Press F5 ................. you may have one waiting for you ........




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users