Comodo Firewall and Mbam

Hello, I am new here. Please be gentle :)

I am running windows XP, service pack 3. I use Microsoft Security Essentials for AV.

So I have been using the paid full version of MBAM pro for a couple years now. I love it, its in my opinion the best anti-maware product you can get.

Never had an issue until a couple days ago.

I realized I was still using windows firewall, and have had it recommended to me by several knowledgeable sources to install a more robust replacement. I tried online armor, but my system took a really significant performance hit, even after I turned off the program guard and just used the firewall.

Comodo firewall was the strongest recommendation I got, so I installed it two days ago. I did not install the antivirus/antimalware portion of the application, only the firewall.

My system performance improved compared to Online Armor, but was still a bit slower than I would have expected. I run sysinternals process explorer pretty much all the time to see what is doing what with my system resources, and I noted that even when my system should normally have been completely idle, MBAM was suddenly for no apparent reason taking up between 3% to 20% of CPU utilization. I turned off website blocking to no effect. I turned off the protection module, also to no effect. Even with both features off, MBAM was still using up CPU cycles.

I scanned with MBAM and MSE. No infections found.

I turned off (exited) Comodo Firewall, and sure enough MBAM stopped eating CPU cycles. Turned it back on, and the issue returned. Ive tested this over 2 days now. Its repeatable every time.