Jump to content


Photo

AVG False Positive against Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware 1.50.1


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
1 reply to this topic

#1 Swandog46

Swandog46

    Elite Member

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 958 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 December 2010 - 08:45 PM

An AVG database update this morning (December 24, 2010) incorrectly detects two DLL files (mbamcore.dll and mbamnet.dll) in Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware 1.50.1 as trojans. This is a false positive. AVG has acknowledged this false positive, and has promised us that it will be corrected within an hour.

We are sorry for our users who are affected by this. It has happened before in the past, and AVG had assured us it would not happen again.

We are also aware that this incident has negatively affected our rating on CNET Download.com and other portals. We would appreciate if a few of our users would set the record straight.

If you use AVG antivirus and get these detections, ignore them. Update your AVG definitions; hopefully it will be fixed soon.
If you have already quarantined the Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware files using AVG (sent them to the Virus Vault), you can fix this as follows:

1. Set Exclusions within AVG

Exclude the Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware program files directory (usually C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware, or C:\Program Files (x86)\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware on x64 operating systems) from AVG.

Precise instructions for how to do this for several versions of AVG may be found here.

2. Restore the Malwarebytes DLLs from the AVG Virus Vault

Step 1: Start AVG
Step 2: Click History -> Virus Vault
Step 3: Select mbamnet.dll and click Restore. Then do the same for mbamcore.dll.

Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware should now function as normal.
Doug Swanson
Chief Technical Officer

Posted Image

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

#2 RubbeR DuckY

RubbeR DuckY

    Marcin

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,148 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 December 2010 - 09:29 PM

Just to clarify, the false positive should have been corrected by AVG at approximately 4pm PT, 6pm CT, 7pm ET and 1:00 AM (Brussels/Paris Time).

Thank you for your patience.
Marcin Kleczynski
Chief Executive Officer



Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users