Jump to content


Photo

Malwarebytes can't beat 'System Tool'


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
12 replies to this topic

#1 BarrySa

BarrySa

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 18 January 2011 - 12:52 PM

I spent the weekend trying to figure out how to rid myself of 'System Tools 2011'. And I thought you guys were good! What goes on here, anyways? Someone has figured out to disable your 'skill' in a single app that's located in 'administrator\documents and settings\applications\some weird name\ some wierd name.exe.' It was a simple fix that took some repeated searches in safe mode to find in a Yahoo! posting by several people who've had the same problem.
I'm not very computer savy but then that's why I paid you guys the $. Seems to me you don't have much savy yourselves; letting us poor mortals wallow in 'Malwarebytes won't remove System Tool'.

#2 Conor55

Conor55

    True Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 421 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 18 January 2011 - 01:26 PM

If you zip the file and put it in malware/rogues, it will get updated, and it will be gone.. :)
Some people are just ignorant.

#3 TeMerc

TeMerc

    Staff

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,019 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Phx. AZ. USA
  • Interests:Formula 1 Auto Racing, Computer Security, Entertainment, Sci-Fi, SuperHeroes

Posted 18 January 2011 - 01:29 PM

I spent the weekend trying to figure out how to rid myself of 'System Tools 2011'. And I thought you guys were good! What goes on here, anyways? Someone has figured out to disable your 'skill' in a single app that's located in 'administrator\documents and settings\applications\some weird name\ some wierd name.exe.' It was a simple fix that took some repeated searches in safe mode to find in a Yahoo! posting by several people who've had the same problem.
I'm not very computer savy but then that's why I paid you guys the $. Seems to me you don't have much savy yourselves; letting us poor mortals wallow in 'Malwarebytes won't remove System Tool'.

Sorry we missed that, but no security tool can detect and prevent all infections, especially rootkits. We update 4-6 times per day and are always researching and adding new detection and removal routines to the database.

But we do indeed remove variants of that infection. New variants require additional work to be added to the database.
Tom Mercado
Product Support Team Lead

Posted Image

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

#4 screen317

screen317

    MBAM Sentinel

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 19,486 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Haven, CT

Posted 18 January 2011 - 02:44 PM

In addition, what you paid for was primarily the Protection Module, and it is likely that it would have prevented the infection from its onset.
Chris Fistonich
Research Team

Posted Image

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

#5 Jaxryley

Jaxryley

    Forum Deity

  • Malware Hunters
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,718 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West Aussie
  • Interests:Gardening and computers.

Posted 19 January 2011 - 10:44 AM

I spent the weekend trying to figure out how to rid myself of 'System Tools 2011'. And I thought you guys were good! What goes on here, anyways? Someone has figured out to disable your 'skill' in a single app that's located in 'administrator\documents and settings\applications\some weird name\ some wierd name.exe.' It was a simple fix that took some repeated searches in safe mode to find in a Yahoo! posting by several people who've had the same problem.
I'm not very computer savy but then that's why I paid you guys the $. Seems to me you don't have much savy yourselves; letting us poor mortals wallow in 'Malwarebytes won't remove System Tool'.

Removal Instructions For System Tool

#6 Tigzy

Tigzy

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPip
  • 190 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nantes (france)

Posted 02 February 2011 - 04:01 AM

Hello

There are many samples of all rogues. If yours is new, MBAM can't know him. I will not teach you how a virus detection works...
If you're still infected, you can use my tool (link my signature), and then when the process is stopped you can launch MBAM to get rid of all the remaining malicious files and registry keys.

Don't panic, this is just a rogue :wacko:
Julien Ascoet
Software Engineer

Posted Image

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

#7 kexul

kexul

    Advanced Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 141 posts

Posted 06 February 2011 - 11:33 AM

Little hard, as the site is in French.

:)

However, useful.

You can also try ESET Online Scanner.

#8 ShyWriter

ShyWriter

    The pencil is mightier than the bite..

  • Software Updaters
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,508 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 06 February 2011 - 12:04 PM

Little hard, as the site is in French.


That's why GOOGLE makes BILLIONS.. *grin*

ScreenHunter_01_Feb._06_12.00.gif

Piece of cake.. :)

~Shy

#9 Tigzy

Tigzy

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPip
  • 190 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nantes (france)

Posted 10 February 2011 - 06:37 AM

Little hard, as the site is in French.

:)

However, useful.

You can also try ESET Online Scanner.



Well, site is in french :lol: , but the tool is in english. Just DL it, launch it and you will retrieve your native language :lol:
Send me the report, or post it here (don't know if the moderation will agree... well let's see.)
Julien Ascoet
Software Engineer

Posted Image

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

#10 LDTate

LDTate

    Forum Deity

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,126 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Missouri, USA

Posted 10 February 2011 - 08:57 AM

Not sure why this topic is here:
StartUpLite Support > Unnecessary Startups

Sometimes the 'System Tools 2011' infection is accompanied with a RootKit / MBR infection. I haven't seen any ant-malware tool that will remove it, YET.
Doesn't mean there isn't one out there, I just haven't seen / used one that will.
Larry Tate
Product Support

Posted Image

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

#11 Conor55

Conor55

    True Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 421 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 February 2011 - 09:19 AM

Not sure why this topic is here:
StartUpLite Support > Unnecessary Startups

Sometimes the 'System Tools 2011' infection is accompanied with a RootKit / MBR infection. I haven't seen any ant-malware tool that will remove it, YET.
Doesn't mean there isn't one out there, I just haven't seen / used one that will.


Maybe he's talking about System tool being a unnecessary start up.

:)
Some people are just ignorant.

#12 LDTate

LDTate

    Forum Deity

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,126 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Missouri, USA

Posted 10 February 2011 - 09:23 AM

Maybe he's talking about System tool being a unnecessary start up.

:)

Well in that case, I'll agree to that. Posted Image
Larry Tate
Product Support

Posted Image

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook

#13 Tigzy

Tigzy

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPip
  • 190 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nantes (france)

Posted 10 February 2011 - 10:30 AM

Maybe he's talking about System tool being a unnecessary start up.


Depends of the point of view I guess... :) Maybe the Rogue's Designer will not agree ...
Anyway, we should consider it as a troll, cause the author never came back...
Julien Ascoet
Software Engineer

Posted Image

Follow us: Twitter, Become a fan: Facebook




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users