Threazy

IP-Block - what now?

10 posts in this topic

Hi - I'm new to malwarebytes - a returning user, actually - and have just updates malwarebytes and it's database. I'm now getting frequent (like every two minutes or so) messages "successfully blocked access to a potentially malicious website: 91.214.44.8 (Type: Outging)" What's this all about and is it something to worry about?

I realize this is probably a frequent question and I'm sorry if this is the ten thousandth time you've seen it. I did a quick search of the forum and found similar messages, but nothing that really gave me a good answer.

I'm running XP Home SP3 and current using Chrome. What do I need to do?

Thanks - Bill

Hello Threazy and Welcome to Malwarebytes

Well you appear to be in the US and that IP appears to be from here

IP address: 91.214.44.8

Host name: hosted-by.altushost.com

91.214.44.8 is from Luxembourg(LU) in region Western Europe

I would suggest following the advice from the topic here Available Assistance for Possibly Infected Computers and having one of the Experts assist you with looking into your issue.

Thanks

You're right, Ron - I'm in Colorado. If you're in Luxembourg, YOU are up awfully late! :-) I will check the link you suggested.

You didn't say whether you think this is a concern or not - should I be worried?

I forgot to ask: what does this message mean? Am I correct in interpreting it that something on my computer is trying to access 91.214.44.8 and that MWB considers that site malicious?

Hi, Threazy: :)

Until AdvancedSetup returns...

>>The IP that you reported in your post is in Luxembourg (not AdvancedSetup). :)

There is more information about the significance of IP blocks in this KB topic: What does it mean when I get an IP alert about blocking a 'malicious' site?

Since these are frequent outgoing IP blocks to an IP on a different continent, they could indicate infection.