Swandog46

AVG False Positive against Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware 1.50.1

2 posts in this topic

An AVG database update this morning (December 24, 2010) incorrectly detects two DLL files (mbamcore.dll and mbamnet.dll) in Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware 1.50.1 as trojans. This is a false positive. AVG has acknowledged this false positive, and has promised us that it will be corrected within an hour.

We are sorry for our users who are affected by this. It has happened before in the past, and AVG had assured us it would not happen again.

We are also aware that this incident has negatively affected our rating on CNET Download.com and other portals. We would appreciate if a few of our users would set the record straight.

If you use AVG antivirus and get these detections, ignore them. Update your AVG definitions; hopefully it will be fixed soon.

If you have already quarantined the Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware files using AVG (sent them to the Virus Vault), you can fix this as follows:

1. Set Exclusions within AVG

Exclude the Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware program files directory (usually C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware, or C:\Program Files (x86)\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware on x64 operating systems) from AVG.

Precise instructions for how to do this for several versions of AVG may be found here.

2. Restore the Malwarebytes DLLs from the AVG Virus Vault

Step 1: Start AVG

Step 2: Click History -> Virus Vault

Step 3: Select mbamnet.dll and click Restore. Then do the same for mbamcore.dll.

Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware should now function as normal.

Share this post


Link to post

Just to clarify, the false positive should have been corrected by AVG at approximately 4pm PT, 6pm CT, 7pm ET and 1:00 AM (Brussels/Paris Time).

Thank you for your patience.

Share this post


Link to post
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.