Malwarebytes won't update

I have been using Malwarebytes for the past five months and I have never been able to update it. I always have to transfer the newest version from another computer.

It has no problems scanning, but when I click on the "Check for updates" button, the program freezes up. It doesn't seem to be able to connect to the server, even though my Internet is working fine. Then, after a while, a little window pops up that says: PROGRAM_ERROR_UPDATING (12002, 0, WinHttpSendRequest)

Can someone help?

Hello and welcome, shrunkin:

There are many possible reasons for updating troubles.

These range from needing to tweak a few MBAM settings to a malware infection.

We need a bit more info to start troubleshooting:

** What Windows OS (XP, Vista, 7)?

** What Service Pack for the OS?

** What version of MBAM (current is 1.50.1.1100)?

** What database version (current is 6253)?

** What brand and version (e.g. Free or Paid, major version number) of anti-virus, anti-malware and/or firewall software do you have?

** Do you use a router to connect to the internet?

** Are you behind an institutional firewall or do you use a proxy server to connect to the internet?

** Are you showing any signs of infection?

** Have your MBAM scans turned up with anything?

Please post back with the requested information so that someone can help to get things working properly for you.

Best regards,

daledoc1

- Windows 7

- I don't seem to have any service packs installed. It just says: "Version 6.1 (Build 7600)" with nothing after that

- MBAM version 1.50.1.1100

- MBAM database version 6219 (I had recently transferred this version from a different computer to my laptop)

- I use Microsoft Security Essentials version 2.0.657.0 and Windows Firewall

- Yes, I use a router

- I don't know what an institutional firewall is, but I'm not using a proxy server